recovering on Koh Lipe


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Lipe
February 22nd 2006
Published: February 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

view from Mountain Resortview from Mountain Resortview from Mountain Resort

view overlooking the beach and nearby Koh Adang from the Mountain Resort on Koh Lipe
It's my 6th day on this small island in the south of Thailand. I hadn't planned on staying more than 4 days, really, since there are other places in Thailand I would still like to see before I board that plane headed back to America.

I wish I could say my reasons for staying longer were due to making new friends or just really digging the island, but actually that wouldn't be the case (although the island is great!). You see, I've been way too sick to do much of anything the last 3 days. I did get myself checked into one of the few bungalow operations (Mountain Resort) with air conditioning to help fight the high fever I've been battling. Although DeZee Bungalows has a lot of character, it wasn't the place for me while ill. It didn't have electricity for more than 6 hours at night so the fan was not usually available. Jumping in the shower every 1/2 hour was a bit of a pain and I would be sweating again in like 1 minute.

Where do things stand now? Well, I started to feel better yesterday and the plan is for me to take the
my bungalow at Mountain Resortmy bungalow at Mountain Resortmy bungalow at Mountain Resort

A little A/C on Koh Lipe (hard to come by!) for $30 per night (about as high as it gets on this island).
boat back to the mainland tomorrow (2 1/2 hour boat ride). There is very little medical care here. I've heard there is a nurse (although I have no idea where) but no doctor or clinic. There are more options on the mainland. We'll see how I feel tomorrow as to how quickly I start moving north through Thailand.

Seeing that I've been sick in bed most of the time since my last entry, there isn't a whole lot to report but I've uploaded some more photos from the island for you to check out...

Thanks for reading...





Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

kids on Koh Lipekids on Koh Lipe
kids on Koh Lipe

a couple of the local village kids (Chao Lay)
Chao Lay kids on mopedChao Lay kids on moped
Chao Lay kids on moped

in the Chao Lay village on Koh Lipe
PorPor
Por

This is Por who has been helping me a lot at Pooh's (an internet cafe, restaurant, bar, and bungalow operation) where I've been using the internet every day. She's from Bangkok but is working at Pooh's on Koh Lipe during the high season.


22nd February 2006

I was getting worried as there hadn't been an update in days. Glad your feeling better and hope you shake the bird flu, or in your case, the banana pancake flu.
22nd February 2006

bummer
Dave, I'm sorry to hear that you are sick. I know how it feels to be sick on vacation; not fun. But i'll be praying for your recovery. -Barrett
22nd February 2006

High fever
David, Sorry to hear you are not feeling well. Shame since it looks like you are in Shangri La! Watch that fever if it comes back, as it could be Malaria like I had. If so, get thee to a DR. Take care and get well-Glenn :-+

Tot: 0.219s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 21; qc: 84; dbt: 0.1053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb