That's all folks!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Lanta
March 18th 2012
Published: July 9th 2015
Edit Blog Post

So as I mentioned in my last blog, I had planned to spend my last 12 nights on a beach in Thailand to 'recover' from the last 5months of travelling! Having jumped on a flight from Bangkok to Krabi, I took a bus down to the Island of Koh Lanta. Koh Lanta actaully consist of over 70 small islands but for me I stayed on Koh Lanta Yai and headed to Khlong Khong beach in search of my very own bungalow on the beach. For 450Baht a night I soon started to unpack and settle myself into my new home. Unfortunately the weather for the first half of my stay was dominated by monsoon rain and thunder, but thankfully the second half of my time there the weather pulled through for me with 36 Degree sunshine! I really didnt do much but spend time on the beach and go for some walks so there is not much else to write. I did pop over to the famous Koh Phi Phi one day on a snorkelling tour which opened my eyes to the tourist developed locations of Thailand. I was so pleased I was only visiting for a day. Far too many people around. First we went snorkelling around Phi Phi Lee where the water is beautiful although not too many exciting fish around. Phi Phi Lee is also home to the famous 'Maya Bay' which was used in Leonardo Di Caprio's film 'The Beach'. When arriving to this beach it looked as if there were more people than sand grains present, it was pretty crazy. It is a very beautiful little bay but far too many boats moored up with far too many tourists ruining the moment. It was then onto Phi Phi Don which is the biggest Phi Phi island and the one that is inhabited. My visit here reinforced that my little bungalow on Koh Lanta was perfect for me. Phi Phi Don has only limited area's that can be built on and subsequently have been OVER built on. Everything was crammed in and when I walked to the beach it felt like I could have been in a Spannish resort, this is definately not a restful island and I was pleased to be back on my boat heading back to Lanta. In contrast Lanta does not having people walking along the beach to sell you things, there are no mass tourist shops or even a big main strip, you just dont get hasseled there at all. When sunbathing on the beach there are no sunloungers encrouching on the sand and no worry that your stuff is unsafe on the beach when your in the water swimming, it is still a remote Thailand beach vibe, but for how long you can never tell as there is plenty of undeveloped land on the Island that someone will no doubt soon look to make some money from!

Unfortunately time came for me to leave my little piece of paradise and start my journey home and end this adventure!

So now it comes from me to summarise my time away....but Im not sure if it is possible?! As you can probably imagine, I have seen and experienced so many different things, with so many highs and a few lows in there as well. My highlight still has to be the Galapagos and can only encourage everyone who can spare the money to get on a plane and get over there soon!

Ive also learnt a few things....

- I value my life and what I have in it a lot!

- I really should learn another language (I have set myself a target to learn Spanish before im 30!)

- No matter where you are in the world, the basic's of life are the same just dressed differently - everyone needs money to put food on the table

- Finally, there is still so much more I want to see!!! So I am positive that there will be more adventures ahead for me!

So I now say Bye Bye and will hopefully catch up with you all soon when I am back home! I would like to thank you for taking time out of your days to read my poorly written blogs but I hope they have inspired some of you to do some more travels of your own!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb