A little slice of Paradise in the Jungle...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Khao Sok NP
April 17th 2009
Published: April 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

The last blog left off with us walking the 4 kms to Arts River View Lodge. Once we arrived we went straight to the restaurant for breakfast.. we were both so hungry after our journey. Sitting in the open air restaurant I thought I was going to pass out.. I was so hot and looked like I had just stepped out of a shower! Damn walk!! LOL

Paradise is still where I left it...



After breakfast we were shown to our treehouse. Fantastic. Since I was last here in Dec 2006 they have built a few new treehouses and they are so great. We had an open aired bathroom that had a waterfall for the shower. It was cold water only so I didnt truly get to enjoy it as much as I could have but soooo pretty. Very romantic place! After a quick shower we chilled out on the front balcony reading books and waiting for lunch... At 12pm we went back to the restaurant for lunch and had really really great food. I had a Chicken Chilli Basil dish that was divine! My rice even came in a loveheart shape! Awwww!

After lunch we went back to the Treehouse to get ready for a trek. Amelia and I had been having a few 'issues' since travelling together and it was starting to come to a 'head' so to speak. After an exchange of words I decided I would stay at the Treehouse for the afternoon and she could do the planned trek. I was really disappointed as I haven't done a trek at Arts before but I needed some space. I stayed on the balcony for the afternoon reading a book, then fell asleep for a few hours.

Dinner time came and we headed over to the restaurant. I had a great curry with loveheart shaped rice again! After dinner we grabbed a couple of large Chang beers and spent the night on the balcony of the treehouse watching the fireflys and stars! It was so peaceful.

The next morning we were up bright and early. We were due to leave for the floating rafthouses at 8.00am. We had breakfast at 7.00am and had Banana Pancakes with honey.. unfortunately the bees decided it was breakfast time for them too and I spent the next half hour trying to avoid the bee and get it off my pancake! While we were having breakfast all the local monkeys came down the cliff opposite us for their daily play and swim in the water! We had a table right at the front (pole position) and it was great to sit there and watch the monkeys play and fight.

We headed off to the Lake in a private transfer. I had organised the whole tour with Kris at Limestone Lake Tours. Her tours are fantastic and reasonably priced. We came around the final corner at the lake and the view literally took my breath away. I remembered why I was so spellbound by this place the first time around. The weather was perfect and the lake looked amazing!

We boarded our private longtail boat and set off for the floating rafthouses an hour away. The scenery was as breathtaking as usual and I took heaps of photos. Upon arrival at the rafthouses we were shown to our room. It was GREAT. They have built some new rooms since I was last there and they were so nice. We were at the very end and it was so private. We lazed around on the balcony reading books and soaking up the sun until lunchtime.

The food was so good, and there was SO much of it. We had 3 dishes plus rice. The guy kept walking past and topping our rice up... When we had emptied two of the dishes he took the plates away and before we knew it had replaced them with more! We just couldnt eat anymore. After lunch I went back to the rafthouse and laid on the balcony for about an hour. I then decided it was time for a swim. The water is amazing.. so beautiful. I put a lifejacket on (the water is full of limestone and very 'heavy') and floated on my back for ages. A Thai tour guide was staying a few rooms down for us. He was sitting on his balcony with a guitar singing softly and as I looked up at the blue sky I really felt like it couldnt be any more perfect. Amelia slept most of the afternoon away, full from lunch.

While I was in the water, the weather started to turn. I was laying there watching the storm cloud roll around the mountains and listening to the faint grumble of thunder. So good. When I had enough of being in the water (about the time I started looking like a prune) I got out and lay in the sun... and took a few more pictures! Then it was back in the water! At 3pm we set off on a trek to Coral Cave.. it involved a long tail boat ride, a 1km walk and another raft ride to reach the cave. The cave was fantastic (I had been there on the previous trip but didnt go so far in). The most funny thing was the National Park guide who took us in with the light. His light consisted of one of those fluro long tube kitchen lights you see on the roof, attached to a car battery via electrical cords. The battery sat on his back in a strong plastic shopping bag and was attached like a backpack using bike tyres around his arms... not sure if you get the picture but so funny! Only in Thailand! I didnt have my camera so couldnt get a photo... priceless!

After we got back from the cave I had another swim. The water was soooo warm. Once I dried off we went back to the restaurant for dinner! soooo good again! We were just about to grab some coke and go drink a small bottle of Samsong Whiskey back at the rafthouse room (my present to Amelia for the stuff up with the flights) when the Cook came out from the kitchen. She said it was her last night there and would we share her bottle of Samsong with her! We sat in the restaurant for a couple of hours chatting to the Cook and drinking whiskey. Afterwards we headed back to the room and were going to have a few more from our bottle. We had started to have a bit of a D&M about our strained friendship and at that stage I thought things would be ok.

While we were sitting on the rafthouse drinking our whiskey the two tour guides that were staying near us (tour guides from a different group at the Rafthouses - one with the guitar) came over with another bottle of Whiskey and asked if we would have a drink with them. It was a pretty funny night from there on in... we drank way too much whiskey and were swimming around about midnight! Both Amelia and I were pretty sick later on in the night!

Travelling Solo...



The next morning I woke up to the hangover from hell... and knew it was bad, as normally I am not sick until the next day, but had been sick all night! I think the floating rafthouse bobbing around probably wasnt helping nor was the heat! While getting ready for breakfast things exploded between Amelia and I. We had a huge fight and it was decided we would go our seperate ways for the rest of the holiday.. the details don't really need to be aired for the world to see.

Amelia went off to breakfast while I stayed at the rafthouse packing to leave. I was sooooooo sick. I spoke with the tour guide and decided to leave early.. I was really sad as I love the place so much, but I just needed to get to dry land and away from the situation with Amelia. I told him that Amelia could take the arranged transport back and I would find an alternative. The guide waved down a passing longtail boat and I hitched a ride with a boat full of holidaying Thais from Bangkok.

In true Reety fashion I ended up sitting there while they went to different sites along the way for photo opportunities. At one point they tried to explain that the rocks they were taking photos off were a replica to some famous rocks in China. They then insisted I get in the family photos with them! Hilarious! I was so hungover and just wanted to get to dry land!

Where is a god damn hospital when you need one?



We finally arrived back at the Pier and I had a driver take me to the main road where I waited for a bus to Phuket. It was sooooo hot and I was sooooo sick. The bus came after about an hour. Once I got on the bus I thought 'oh no i am going to be sick' and luckily I was seated right up the back near the toilet. I spent the next half an hour in the toilet! When I got out though, the problem started. I think that due to lack of food (by this stage it was after 12.00pm), not being able to keep fluids down and the heat I started to succumb to heat stroke (or something very similar). My lips turned all numb and tingly and my fingers too! I was thinking 'oh no this is NOT good'. I tried to do some deep breathing and calm down. I knew it wasnt a good situation as I was 4 hours from Phuket!

After about 10 minutes my whole body started to get the tingly feeling and I was getting hot and cold flushes and was all 'clammy'. My hands started to cramp. I thought I was probably in some serious trouble. A nice Canadian guy that was sitting near me told me that we were 20 minutes from a stop. He told me to lay down and he would get me some Gatorade when we arrived. I was speaking to my friend Chelle on the phone and was soooo worried. True to his word, when the bus stopped, the nice Canadian bought me two bottles of Gatorade. I tried to drink one and lay down to try sleep. Unfortunately I was in the sun on my side of the bus so had to keep sitting up as I was getting too hot.

The Canadian guy then offered for me to take his seat and even gave me his pillow!! LOL I lay down the whole way to Phuket drifting in and out of sleep... word of advice to all kiddies : DONT DRINK SAMSONG WHISKEY unless you are waking up in airconditioning!!!!!

At Phuket I jumped in the first air conditioned car I could find.. and didnt care about the fact that they charged me 450 baht for the short ride!! I just needed my hotel. Once at the hotel I checked in and set about pampering myself, to nurse my wounds.... physically and emotionally. I had a huge bubble bath, ordered a steak in room service (510 baht .. what the?!) and lay down for a few hours, drinking lots of fluids.

Afterwards I went for a wander around Patong... visiting my mate "Johnny" for DVDS, getting a foot massage (which was one of the best I have had), then ordering more room service before passing out! What a hell of a day!! It is now time for me to have some stress free holiday 'ME' time!

Anyway that brings me almost up to date. Stayed
Chieow Laan LakeChieow Laan LakeChieow Laan Lake

The breathtaking view when you first arrive!
tuned for more adventures from the lovely but expensive town of Patong Beach! Gee it is expensive here compared to the rest of Thailand!!

Love to all
Reet xxxx




Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 30


Advertisement

Self portrait!Self portrait!
Self portrait!

apparently cause noone else wants to take my photo! Meh! I can handle that!


21st April 2009

:( *hugs*
Oh you poor thing!!! Your not having much luck are you!! I'm starting to wonder if Thailand is good for you or not!! Hope your still having fun...and of course like everyone else, I'm wishing I was there with you!! take care xx lorree
21st April 2009

:) Random Canadians and roadtrips!!
Hey babes .... great pics... def on the list... :) love the blog yet again.. Loved the random canadians... do you speak english??? :) look forward to the next installment... xxx
21st April 2009

'The Claw'
Hi Reet...well you have well and truly made it to seasoned traveller as you have experienced 'The Claw' (as we nicknamed it) due to dehydration. Neil had it once and it was so scary trying to force feed Gatorade to someone in that state. Hope you are ok nowand thank god for the random Canadian guy. Keep on smiling and drink plenty of water!
22nd April 2009

Hope you are better now.
Hi Reet Sorry your plans have gone astray, once you feel better you will take on the world single handed and have a great remainder of your holiday. Big hugs Lee xx
23rd April 2009

Donna & Neil
thanks for the comment.... am only half the traveller you two guys are.. still enjoy your blogs.. interesting experience in India! Yep thank god for random Canadian boys! :-) x

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb