Day 46 - Thai time


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Chumphon
November 22nd 2008
Published: November 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, the train arrived at Chumphon at 08.30 (instead of 03.47!) - just a little late!!! We had obviously missed the boat and there was no way of getting a refund so we had to buy new tickets for the 13.00 boat instead. Great.

We wandered around the town (there is nothing at all to see here) and found a little cafe to wait in. Eventually it was time to go to the port and we were greeted by a rather large catamaran. Joey had already warned that this crossing was particularly bad and we had dosed up on travel sickness pills, but nothing prepared me for the actual journey.

We raced upstairs to get one of the few outside seats and off we went. About 15 minutes in we were getting soaked and I made the mistake of going downstairs and inside in the dry. OMG I wish I hadn't. I lasted 10 minutes and was out the back being sick - vile but true. The rest of the 2 hour crossing was spent lying on a bench outside again. This time, I really didn't care about the spray - I was too busy holding on!!. My trusty Tesco (#1.50 in the sale) flip flops which had lasted me so well had an untimely overboard adventure. Their bid for freedom left me completely shoeless - a situaltion that would normally have had me breaking out in a cold sweat, however, I only wanted to be off the boat!

We quickly found our lift to Ban's Diving resort and dumped our bags. The resort was great - 2 pools, great restaurant and bar on the front (the sea came up under the floor of the bar it was that close to the beach!) and really great dive staff. We booked in for our dives and headed off to dinner.

I was pretty shattered after the whole trip and was asleep by about 20.30.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 42; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb