Arrived!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Chalong
September 8th 2006
Published: September 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

My Trip Route


Hello Friends! I arrived in Bangkok a few days ago and have now made my way to a Muay Thai camp (Thailand's signature martial art) in Phuket. I stayed on Th Khao San Road while in Bangkok which is a staging ground for backpackers around the world to plan their treks in Thailand. Bangkok is a city emersed in pollution and to the point that the humid air captivates the musky stinch of the place like fog in a valley bottom. The pollution comes from thousands of taxis, buses, rick-shaws, motor bikes, and trucks that snail through the traffic riden city. Aside from the pollution and traffic, the city is a jungle of powerlines, street signs, street vendors, canals, motor boats, and sky scrapers...whoever planned this city must have been on a lot of drugs because it has very little ryhme and reason. I took a water taxi on one of the canals to check out the city and realized it should have been named the sludge luge. As you pass the other taxis on the canal, often times you would get a nice splash of sludgy water coming across the boat's make-shift protective side tarps and right onto your face or clothes.....nice.

Ok, so you can tell that I was not so impressed with Bangkok, but there was one highlight...the Grand Palace. Located in central Bangkok, this is a sight that is not to be missed. Within the palace walls is a Buddhist temple (Wat Phra Kaew) that contains huge golden spires, temples overlayed with precious gems and stones, gardens, statues, mini-rock cities, and much more. The highlight of the temple is the Emerald or Jaded Buddha statue that sits only 60cm high on a massive golden throne and has been the cause of many wars. Also, nearby the palace was Wat Pho, Temple of the Reclining Buddha. The highly impressive gold plated reclining Buddha is 46 meters long and 15 meters high and lies with his hand behind his head as if he was chillin under a shady tree, but actually illustrates the passing of Buddha into Nirvana.

I had my first Thai massage (and 1st massage ever!) in Bangkok and it was nothing like I expected. It was more like getting beaten in a way that actually feels good. I was sore for at least three days afterwards because it is such an agressive style of massage. I didnt lay back and sip a cocktail, rather I clenched my teeth and tried to keep my eyes from watering as my back was cracked and my calves Charlie Horsed.

I left Bangkok quickly and made my way south to the beaches of Phuket province where I started Muay Thai training at a center/camp near Chalong. The camp also has training in Ju-Jitsu and MMA (mixed martial arts). Training at the camp is very intense and is from 6:30 am to 9:30 and then 3:30 pm to 7 pm. My instructor is a local Thai fighter and shows no mercy, but is really good at working with me. I can't tell you how many times I hear "why you no listen" or "who teach you that...I no teach you that!" Haha! Check out their website at Tiger Muay Thai

I'm not sure how long I will stay in Chalong, but I am thinking I may spend the rest of my time training here and using it as a staging ground to explore many of the local islands, dive, rock climb, and kayak on the weekends.

It rains here often, as it is the monsoon season, and it's not like the quick summer showers back home. The rain usually comes as long heavy down pours that can last hours or even days at a time.

The food has been excellent and I would best describe most of the dishes I have eaten as Ramen on steroids. Haha!

Miss you all very much and will journal again soon!





Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Muay Thai Fight RingMuay Thai Fight Ring
Muay Thai Fight Ring

One of the training rings at Tiger Muay Thai.


11th September 2006

Wax on Wax off
Bubba, you better be eating you wheeties because that guy looks like he could kill you! Hope you are having fun. David
12th September 2006

yeah!
hey Billy-- sounds like you're having a blast! I look forward to hearing more- God bless! ~Jessica
13th September 2006

i can still beat you up
whadup billy?! what the heck are you doing? when are we going to go fishing for sea bass again? your page was forwarded to me, but what's your email address? peas out.
14th September 2006

Email
yo, dude...I would love to catch up....wellison2@hotmail.com
15th September 2006

hey dude! Have fun on your trip this weekend. Don't get too extreme :) Miss ya!
19th September 2006

Ju-Jayeah
Billy, Seth and I are amazed that you are on the other side of the world! Glad to hear you're having a great time! We will be praying for you and love you! Keep the updates coming!
19th September 2006

Watch out for tanks
Hey dode. Looks like there's a little bit of a coup going on over there. What the hell is going on? Be safe Billy, and make sure you're on the winning team. Love, Jordan p.s. Try to get a picture of some dead bodies for me.
19th September 2006

Beware asians
Billy, take it from an asian, don't try and fight us. We will one day rule the world and we are very crafty. Kick low, for we are short... Peace.
20th September 2006

Can you email me! I have been watching the news about everything that is going on. Are you ok??? Are you anywhere near all the violence?!?! I am sort of freaking out. You are my prayers. Love ya.
23rd September 2006

HI! How is it there? I miss you sooooooo much,(I bet Gussie does too)! E-mail me where guss goes to bootcamp I need to see it! I love and miss you! PS It is Greys b-day today! Love , MC

Tot: 0.277s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 73; dbt: 0.2315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb