Hop, Skip, Jump, and a Swim to (#2)Paradise


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ao Nang
November 10th 2007
Published: November 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Good job everyone! I managed to find Paradise #2 just a few short days after the Maldives! I spotted a postcard in Bangkok with the most amazing picture and said, where is that!?! I'm going there next! And I found myself off to Krabi the next day, with the grand plan of exploring and diving Koh Phi Phi national marine preserve a few days later! (more on that in the next blog! You won't believe it!!!) I spent 2 nights on the beaches of Ao Nang, and was intent on starting my "divers life" in this paradise. The first night I went to a dive shop and bought my first mask and snorkel, and discussed the dive sites as well as the must-snorkel spots of the area! I left early the first morning on a 4-island hopping/kayaking/snorkel adventure! I met a group of 4 fun girls (from England...everyone here is from England!) and we had a blast all day exploring the beautiful outcroppings of southern Thailand! We started at Hong Island, and first went for a quick swim in an isolated lagoon of awesomeness! Then we hit a beach on the small island and jumped in kayaks to explore the area! Those huge breathtaking green and white outcroppings are of all shapes and sizes and they are everywhere! We paddled around the island, and had a fantastic time talking travels and boys! Then we had lunch on Hong Island and had a few minutes to snorkel around.....there were loads of fishes and they would go into a crazy frenzy if you feed them! I see a lot of the same fishes as the Maldives, parrot fish, groupers, butterfly fish, but finally had my first sightings of clown fish! SOooooo cute! They would hover around an anenome and then I'd swim right above them and they would all duck inside the coral to hide, and I'd drift a bit away and they would all come out and play again! Next we stopped at three other island beaches, each with its own personality of hot hot sun, white white sand, and beautiful cliff edges all around you! The only thing I didn't like is that the city seems to have lost all of its personality to the tourists - most of the town was just tourist shopping and restaurants. Oh well, I got a chance to have PIZZZA YAY, can't complain about that, and found out some great information about the reefs and dive sites I'd be visiting the next day!

After talking with the dive masters in Ao Nang, I was really anxious to take the morning ferry over to Koh Phi Phi the next day to do some serious sea exploring! I can see this underwater exploration becoming an absolute passion in my life! It's amazing how enamored I am with these fishes!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



14th November 2007

wish I was there!
man-o-man, absolutely breathtaking waters (and i love water since i'm a pisces and live on the water), am glad you are loving the diving experiences. that IS funny that you are running into so many from england and that you get to spend many days with them all. your day to day adventures are so funny and you are definitely making the most of every hour!! keep the e-mails, postcards and blogs coming. love you to pieces, MOM
14th November 2007

WOW
Each and every entry gets more and more amazing. You truly are one lucky girl!
15th November 2007

fun as always!
Hey Stefunny! Love the stories. I guess you're going to have a tough time deciding where to live! I suspect the middle of the desert is out! : )
15th November 2007

Hey sister!
Hey Steph, I finally got the blog from Bon and I have to say I am extremely jealous of you right now as I sit in my 10 X 10 office with no windows. I hope you are having a great time! Love the pics of you and Bon! Classic! Take care and be safe! Kim
19th November 2007

Say hello to the fish!
Waiting to hear what the diving at Phi Phi was like... I'm sure Indonesia is going to be even better! Say hello to all the fish for me! Have a great time.. The pom pom girl is very cool .. Thanks! :)

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb