4 hours of the Southern Thai Beach Scene


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ao Nang
January 24th 2007
Published: February 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Air AsiaAir AsiaAir Asia

Professional, Cheap, Comfy. The nice black leather seats here are the best 'economy seats I have ever experianced
I flew into the brand new but quaintly small airport in Krabi, and yet again, the Thai's somehow managed to screw up something as simple as airport signage. The design was fine, but all of the passengers went out to the airport drive only to find out that ground transport had to be reserved from inside the terminal, which required one to go back through security. No signs stating this, just one taxi company with a booth inside the terminal, and a plane full of people making a revolving door trip out to the airport drive. It was good and comical. In the end, I shared a taxi with a gal from California, and two from Australia to Au Nang beach. Remind me to book ahead in Thailand. I got there, and found nothing but overpriced stuff for a bit, then one that came in at exactly $10, so I took it. I had one day to see the beach before going down to Malaysia, and didn't want to waste time walking around looking for a room. I settled in at 3pm, and was on the beach by 3:05. Ok, so maybe it wasn't such a bad value. I also realized that my traveler ADHD was getting worse. By sunset, I had 'been there done that' with the Southern Thai beach scene, and was not feeling like my visit was cut short. It was really nice beach, and I think the 800 Europeans sharing it with me concurred. I was able to slip away from the hordes and catch a sliver of a resort beach that was open to the public, but that required running the gantlet of small monkeys in a bad mood. These little brats would walk up to people, and snatch at the bags of fruit they had purchased to feed all the monkeys. If the person tried to tug at the bag, then they got clawed. Very effective tactic for the monkeys. When they didn't have any food in the picture, they were cute, but hissed if you stopped along the boardwalk to take pic. Fun times. After the best Pad Thai of the trip, I was in bed early and up by 5 for a sunrise jog along the beach in time to get me down to Penang in Malaysia later on that day.







Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The best part is by the resortThe best part is by the resort
The best part is by the resort

A small sliver here is open to the public
Monkey HighwayMonkey Highway
Monkey Highway

I ran into these guys walking down from the resort
Best Phad Thai I hadBest Phad Thai I had
Best Phad Thai I had

Convert a motor bike and cook up good food!


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb