Same Same but Different Sukhothai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Sukhothai
February 2nd 2011
Published: February 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Bus to Old City 41 secs
2: Bangkok - Canal taxi boat 64 secs
3: Bangkok - Canal boat taxi 2 27 secs
After Ayuthaya I headed six hours north on the bus to the temple town of Sukhothai. I arrived as usual without any accommodation booked and got lucky by getting a free ride on a minibus with 3 other people who had booked there stay with Sila Resort. I was very happy to get a nice comfortable room with aircon for $12 a night. That evening I walked the 10 minutes into town and tried a few things at the night market. Next day I caught the 65 cent small bus/truck(see video 1) to travel the 12 kms to Sukhothai old town where the temples are located. At the entrance I hired a bike for $1 and spent the next 5 hours riding around enjoying the many temples in the area. It probably lacks the variety of Ayuthaya, but makes up for it with the pleasant surrounds of the park and countryside. In one of the photos you can see me with 3 monks, they actually asked me to have a photo taken with them. This has happened a few times already where Thais have asked me to be in there photos, which I really can’t understand. The following day I hired a motorcycle and rode around for about 5 hours enjoying the small villages and rice fields in the area. I really enjoyed my stay in Sukhothai and I am pretty sure I will visit again sometime.

I was very fortunate on my last night in Sukhothai to get an email from a friend to tell me that Myanmar had cancelled the visa on arrival and now you had to get one before you take your flight. I was just planning on going back to Bangkok for 1 night, but after this news I worked out that I would have to spend 3 nights there. So next day I went back to Ayuthaya on the bus and spent 1 night there where I caught up with a couple of people I had met previously.

First night back in Bangkok I caught up with Rin for a couple of drinks and a few games of pool (which I lost). Next day I had to be at the Myanmar embassy at 8am so I could get a good position in the cue to fill out my forms and apply for my visa, which thankfully by paying a little more means I can pick it up the next day. I also had another ride on my favourite form of transport here, the taxi boat down the canals. I was even more impressed this time because I noticed not only the money collectors duck under the bridges but the driver actually lowers the roof under a few of the bridges at the last second(see video 2). On the 3rd day in Bangkok I had a nice sleep in and didn’t leave the hotel till about 1pm. I then had a quick look at Chinatown before heading to the Myanmar Embassy. The collection of my visa took about half an hour and while I was waiting I met a girl from Italy who is travelling there the day after me. It has been very easy to make friends in the last couple of weeks, due to the fact that I am hanging around the backpack crowd. Last night I chatted to an old guy from Holland who has been doing business in Thailand a long time and tonight I go out with my 2 friends from France that I met travelling down from Sukhothai. Tomorrow I drop off my computer and a couple of other things to Rin on the way to the airport and then I have to exchange a whole lot of Thai baht for US dollars to use in Myanmar. There are no ATMs and virtually no use of credit cards, so you have to take all that you are going to spend with you. The notes that you take have to be in pristine condition and the higher the denomination the better exchange rate you get for it on the black market. Due to the fact that there is very limited access to the internet in Myanmar, you will probably not hear from me until I get back to Bangkok in a months time. So everyone take care and Myanmar here I come.

A few observations in Thailand
• I like the way that the motorcycle taxi guys in Pattaya just clap when you walk by so that you know they are there. This is a lot better than hearing “You want taxi sir?” all day long and having to say no or shake your head. I wish all the taxi riders in Thailand conducted business this way
• Also in Pattaya I saw an advert on tv for Ladies Parking at the modern shopping centre in town. By paying a little extra ladies get a larger parking spot, an attendant (female)to help them reverse in, somebody(female) to open the door for them, and somebody(female) to carry all their shopping back to the car.
• In Bangkok I walked past a few stores that make wooden front doors with English Premier League team names and emblems on them. (see photo in previous blog)
• I have stayed in a few hotels that are aimed at Thai holiday makers and businessmen and have been impressed with the very low prices and range of drinks and snacks they have available. These tend to be at local shop prices and a lot cheaper than foreigner guesthouses.
• I really like the way when anyone walks into 7-11 the cashier always says “sawasdee ca” (hello). It is just a nice touch. The stores really work well over here, the prices are very reasonable, the service very good, and there are stores everywhere. Another interesting and amusing thing is that the Thais call them just “7” and drop the 11.
• Also I have noticed that in a lot of the cities the Tuk Tuks are quite different and unique.



Additional photos below
Photos: 68, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb