I'll Take the Whole Pai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Pai
March 5th 2006
Published: March 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

TensionTensionTension

Beautiful in Pai
OK it's Day 8 in the lovely city of Pai.
Honestly I can't remember what I've done exactly but to be honest it hasn't been much. My first day I rented a bike which turned out to be broken. I went on a four hour bike ride sans water and was in some serious pain, but getting some exercise felt good and I got to see an area of Pai that most tourists would really go out to. I stopped in a rice field and took a nice nap in a farmers shed and went on my way (It was a nice open air shed with a swing)
I also took a full day Yoga class, which was interesting. The add said it was for beginners, but my body didn't do most of the things the teacher was showing us and I spent a lot of the class in pain. Met a cool girl from NYC though in the class who is also going to Burma shortly so it always works out.
Met a lot of random people in this town. Had a really fun night of partying with this Guy from Hong Kong who studied at Oxford and Yale. Wow. We each tried to drink each other under the table. The fact that I don't' really remember getting home probably dictates who won.
Went to a a trivia contest one night. Met an interesting bloke from England who was 68 and retired, living off his savings, married a Thai woman, and is having a pretty awesome life. He and I dominated in the trivia contest and won by 8 points. We won a bottle of whiskey and each attempted to aid in finishing it but failed.
I also rented a motor bike for five days (3.00/a day). Didn't fall for the first 3 days but then lost control in an intersection and fell over scrapping my foot pretty badly my arm and my knee. Totally embarrassed I got up as fast as possible and rode off. AHHH stupid tourist.

This place is a purely Backpacker town. Fortunately the city itself has a lot more charm that the Veng Vien in Laos. I have met a lot of people who have been year for a lot longer than they have meant to be which puts this town the category with Olympos,Turkey Czesky Krumlov, Czeck Republic,
Franzia in Pai?Franzia in Pai?Franzia in Pai?

California Wine!!!!
and Veng Vien, Laos. Though I think this town is pretty special.


After 6 days of being in this town I could not walk down the street without bumping into someone I had met the night before or been met some other way. IT sounds good but, I needed a break so I decided to take my motor scooter and head to Mae Hon Son to see the long necks.




Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

The Good Life.The Good Life.
The Good Life.

I'm living this too the full.
Biking in fields of RiceBiking in fields of Rice
Biking in fields of Rice

Again I'm the worst biker. I went biking for 4 hours with no water. Genius
Pai Hot SpringsPai Hot Springs
Pai Hot Springs

There is nothign like waking up early and enjoying some relaxinvg hot springs
ButterflyButterfly
Butterfly

The Butterflies in Thailand are amazing...
One of my FavoritesOne of my Favorites
One of my Favorites

I really liked this painting.
Other favoriteOther favorite
Other favorite

I met the lady who drew this one. Her name is Gop. Cooks a mean currie
BeeBopBeeBop
BeeBop

Amazing Jaz Jam at Beebop. Forever engrained in my memories.
Pai AerobicsPai Aerobics
Pai Aerobics

Had to take a picture of this outdoor Aerobics sesh.
Made in UtopaiMade in Utopai
Made in Utopai

Nice Thai Lady who designs T-shirts owns this store.
Trivia ChampionsTrivia Champions
Trivia Champions

Ron and myself beat thre teams ranging from 5-8 people. That was our prize. Not rons real face...


7th March 2006

pictures look great... Ads
7th March 2006

Shmads Shmads
Don't do drugs, do nature. Oh wait. Sickie Pikkies in this blaugh.
23rd March 2006

KomPai
Admo - fabulous pictures. I'm glad to hear that you're going for great bike rides too! Your blog brings me back to my time in Pai - the little shops and the hot springs, etc. Keep on!

Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 79; dbt: 0.0995s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb