Goodbye, Pai!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Pai
November 30th 2006
Published: November 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone,

So sorry, but I won't be giving you much of a Pai update, afterall. I've taken nearly 2 hours uploading photos and videos from the trek, and my time here has come to a close. We've had a lovely 2 days here in Pai, though. Rented motorbikes again (I know, we're dumb, but we had insurance this time!) and it was a great way to see the gorgeous country side. Really a lovely time. We also met up with Vicky, Jost, and Rob from trekking, and we've been hanging out a bit (along with a friend of theirs, Lauren, from the US). I'll put up a couple quick picks but I've really got to go! The guide books say it all, though: Pai is a perfect and interesting mix of western and asian tourists, hill tribe people, and muslims all mingling together on street corners. It's great!

Tonight we board and all night mini-bus, which the intention of arriving at the Laos border in the morning. I won't have internet access for at least 3 days, but I'll write when I can!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Reminds me of the Creston ValleyReminds me of the Creston Valley
Reminds me of the Creston Valley

Except... with palm trees (as Mark said)
Street lifeStreet life
Street life

Some hill tribe people sell their wares, while a muslim busker sets up a music stand across the street
Thai Pancake VendorThai Pancake Vendor
Thai Pancake Vendor

I think Mark probably put this guy's kids through university--he was a big fan of the Thai pancakes! Well, they only cost 30cents or less, so maybe university is a bit of a stretch...


Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0805s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb