teaching and itching


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Mae Sot
February 5th 2013
Published: February 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I have 57 mosquito bites on one leg and 69 on the other. I'm pretty sure my Indian mosquito repellent is not only not working, I think it's actually attracting mosqitos. Fortunately, I made a stop at tesco today, and my new perfume is citronella.

I did indeed find volunteer work, after all. I teach mornings at a school, really someone's house, and my classroom is the front patio, complete with a loyal dog I'm always tripping over, and a usually semi nude spoiled 3 year old son, who lives there. Two of my students also live there, because the woman's father just had a stroke, and they help out. It seems that family has a blurry line that includes school and teacher. My students make me a gigantic lunch every day, which includes more rice than can be humanly consumed. Only they all eat as much and they are all small, I don't get it!

In the evenings, I teach 3 listening classes 3 times a week at another school. For this service, they lend me a bike for a month. Wow. For the same price as a bike rental, which Idon't have to pay, I get a room in this guest house, about $45.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb