Made IT


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Mae Sot
January 30th 2010
Published: January 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well I finally made it. I haven't slept in a bed for two nights as instead of staying over in Bangkok I decided to take the night bus to Mae Sot. I got to know the Bangkok airport very well since I had 8 hrs and I remember from past experience that the bus terminal did not have much. I have to say it wasn't to painful as I got a foot and shoulder massage. Today my mind is mush just trying to stay sort of awake so on Thai time but really tempted to take a nap. I am at the Ban Thai guest house quiet a few volunteers and NGO workers here so need to pick some brains when I can keep a conversation going. Mae Sot seems to be quite an interesting town in so far as the large amount of NGOS in the area. Went to the market today and had flashbacks of Korea dried fish smells the same everywhere! Tomorrow I am going to sit in on an English class at the Monk's Library. I went to a "discussion" session this morning with a Burmese monk, sorry can't remember name, it was basically on his trying to way awareness and get democracy in Burma. He was off to teach an English class and I volunteered to go tomorrow. I just got to find the place!



Advertisement



30th January 2010

Lucky lady!
HI! You are in Thailand!!!!??? Are you there by yourself? How long will you be gone? Have so much fun, and be safe! Love ya lady! Carisa
30th January 2010

Good Times!
Hey! It was weird and fun to have crossed paths in the Denver airport! Ben and I were returning from Maryland where we visited his family and attended the wedding of his older brother. If our plane hadn't landed early, we wouldn't have seen each other. It's cool when you randomly run into someone you know where neither person lives :-) I visited Bangkok and have been to the airport. It's pretty nice and new. It sounds like you are well on your way to getting acquainted with the area,, meeting people, and getting involved. I will have to pull out a map to see where Mae Sot is located. How was the bus ride? It was always an adventure taking long-distance buses in China. I look forward to your updates. How long will you be in Thailand? Take care and be safe, Christina

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb