Visiting the jungle camp and spending time at home


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Mae Hong Son
June 12th 2009
Published: June 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My adopted Karenni familyMy adopted Karenni familyMy adopted Karenni family

Can you see the family resemblance?!
When I heard that Camp 2 was in the heart of the jungle and very picturesque I had to see it with my own eyes. This would have to be one of the most remote camps I have visited. To reach the camp you travel 1.5 hours from Khun Yuam town by 4WD on a muddy and rutted track through beautiful bamboo forests and dense jungle, over numerous streams and rivers. It is that bumpy that for most of the ride I found myself holding on to the passenger handle so my head wouldn’t bang against the window or car interior. Our own Thailand rollercoaster ride!

Camp 2 is located in a really beautiful part of Mae Hong Son area and I would definitely love to walk the track rather then be in the car. It is home to 3,965 camp residents who are mainly Karen and Karenni ethnics with a small percentage of Manaw, Shan and Padaung. Most people speak Skaw Karen and because it is a very isolated camp it still manages to maintain strong elements of the typical villages that many of the residents came from. Since 2005, around 200 people have departed for resettlement. I spent 2 days meeting Karenni families bound for Australia and getting an insight into their camp life.

I also made a visit to BMNS camp to meet some other families resettling to Australia. I have decided to adopt or be adopted by the one I am featured with. The oldest daughter spoke English extremely well and they were such a loving family. I told them that this is the before shot of them in the camp and the after shot will be taken when I see them again in Melbourne, I am sure it will be an interesting comparison. No doubt they will be wearing a lot warmer clothes. I did warn them about how cold Melbourne is at the moment but I am not sure they will know just how cold until they arrive!!

I have spent the last couple of weekends cooped up at home studying. Recently our adopted dog returned with her 6 pups and 2 young monks joined our English classes. Both are 10 years old and one speaks English so well, I may get him to take over eventually!



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0736s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb