Chiang Rai (14-16 Sep 13)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Rai
September 15th 2013
Published: September 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

And so after some two and a half months, it was finally time to leave Thailand (again). As I continued to make my way towards the northern border with Laos, my last stop before I crossed was Chiang Rai. Incidentally, this was also my first stop in Thailand last year early on in my trip, when I crossed the border from Myanmar. At the time, I'd only spent a quick overnighter before speeding off to catch a flight to Bangkok. So this time, I stayed just a little longer to explore the city a bit more.

The current low tourist season certainly made itself felt here. I recall Chiang Rai's streets certainly being more crowded and bustling last year, in July. But now, in September, Chiang Rai feels very, very quiet. And walking around at night, even in the city centre, there weren't many other people, quite a contrast to my last visit here. I still recall having dinner at the night bazaar last year, and the place was totally packed. This time round though, barely a third of the tables were occupied. Maybe it's the rain, living up to the name of the season, that's keeping the tourist numbers down. Whatever the case, the up-down and boom-bust cycles of the tourism industry are certainly making their effects felt here.

And so, with that, it looks like it's going to be a quiet goodbye to the Land of Smiles, as I will continue my journey to the Laotian border. This would mark the end of my third extended stint here, and each farewell, I've always felt a slight tinge of sadness. But I also know now, that rich, new experiences continue to await me, and that it shouldn't be long either, that I'll be back. Until then...

Stayed at Baan Bua Guesthouse.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Fried CricketsFried Crickets
Fried Crickets

Yes quite commonly see them deep-fried in the streets of Thailand, but this was the first time I saw so many of them still alive!
Say What?Say What?
Say What?

Despite my six months of Thai lessons, I can still pretty much only read three words here. And they certainly perplex me.
Wat Phra KaewWat Phra Kaew
Wat Phra Kaew

Yes, similarly named as its perhaps more famous brethern in the capital. But Chiang Rai was really where the Emerald Buddha was first discovered, after lightning cracked open its casing, way back in the 1300-1400s.
City Navel PillarsCity Navel Pillars
City Navel Pillars

That's what they're called, anyway.


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb