Chiang Rai Last Day


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Rai
August 26th 2012
Published: August 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Chiang Rai

So, yesterday was my last day in Chiang Rai and I am sad to be leaving here this morning. It is typically a place most travellers simply pass through en route to Laos, but I would highly recommend people stop for a few days to take in the local area and meet the local people. It is definitely a place I would love to return to some day.

After breakfast yesterday, I headed into town to the bus station to try and figure out how and which bus to get tomorrow.

I clearly looked a little dazed as a Candaian Guy came over, he volunteers with the tourist police here and offered assistance. He moved here over 15years ago and is now retired, hence why he has chosen to volunteer with the tourist police.

Turns out he knew quite a bit about Phayao too (that's the place I'm moving on to) He was suprised that as a backpacker I was taking the time to visit a place hardly ever visited by a tourist, however I have heard and read that the town surrounds a beautiful lake and has a very laid back vibe, so I'm keen to see the place. The bus is a local bus and the journey takes a little over an hour, depending on traffic, local bus means no a/c, no fan, pleny of locals and my backpack on my knee, thankfully its a short journey.

Given that it is not exactly a tourist destination, I found there to be a lack of accommodation, let alone 'budget' accommodation in Phayao; And there were only 2 places that you can actually book online, one of which is well out of my budget!

I didnt want to take the risk of there being no availability anywhere when I arrived and so I have booked into Northern Lake Hotel, Phayao (look it up or click this link:http://www.agoda.com/asia/thailand/phayao/phayao_northern_lake_hotel.html?type=1&site_id=1430286&url=http://www.agoda.com/asia/thailand/phayao/phayao_northern_lake_hotel.html&tag=b20bac78-c6e1-44d1-be87-2616a0376472&gclid=CM6i8uaRhLICFYka6wodYSEAIQ&cklg=1 ) It seems ok, 7 GBP per night, so a little over my typical budget but I figured Id go all out. Plus it's a hotel, so a proper room (hopefully) with en-suite, maybe even a TV and hairdryer!!

After getting back to the guesthouse I spent a few hours in/by the pool, which was nice and then headed out in the evening to 'Walking Street'

Every Saturday night, Thanalai Road is closed to traffic from 5pm to 11pm, with the street adopting a festive / market vibe. Very popular with Thais and little known about by western (farrang) tourists.

Thanalai Road is located in the Chinese quarter of the City. The Chinese lanterns are lit, traffic diverted, and the the whole feel of the street changes. It becomes very very busy from 6pm onwards. You can see and experience Street dancing, Thai street food, Thai Music, Karaoke, market stalls and much more. Its was great to see.

On the way back I bumped into Sophie from the Guesthouse, so we stopped at a bar/restaurant for our tea. I had sweet & sour chicken, rice and a coke for about 2 GBP. Although for the first time since arriving I did feel a little nauseous last night. Took 4 Pepto Bismol and it seemed to do the trick...it may just have been the heat though, as it didnt drop below 32degrees last night.

Sophie left this morning for her slow boat to Laos. I on the other hand have just had breakfast, packed up and will be leaving for the bus station shortly.

I'll post again when in Phayao.

Love to all xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb