insert clever title here


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Rai
February 25th 2010
Published: February 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Feb 24th

Today after a delcious breakfast at our guesthouse, we hopped on a bus to the White temple, about 13 km outside the city.

Taking the local busses is pretty great, not only do they cost a fraction of the tourist busses (our trip cost 20 baht each way, or about 65 cents) they're actually more comfortable. I much prefer open windows blowing air in my face to Aircon that sometimes works and sometimes doesnt.

The wat really is something to behold, an all white ornate building inlaid with thousands of pieces of glass, which really make it shimmer in the sunlight. All around are carvings of demons and goblins and other awesome stuff.

Unlike pretty much every other temple, construction here began in 1998 and is expected to continue until 2070 or so. The architect is an artist turned designer who recieved a nice sum from a rich Thai to get construction started. There are many themes encompassed throughout, most of which I have no idea about.

Unfortunately, they dont allow photography inside the watt, which is really too bad, because its wicked cool, with a giant mural showing all sorts of things, from star wars characters and neo from the matrix to buddah and an image of the twin towers coming down with demons emerging.

Overall this is one of the coolest things we've seen so far, in 60 years I'd like to come see how much its progressed, its already something to behold.

...

Feb 25th

Last night was pretty awesome.

We went for dinner at a fancy italian place, the food was really good and the staff were super polite and professional. After dinner I accidentally knocked over the glass from my mai thai, the waiter rushed over and started cleaning up, then informed me that I would have to pay 250 baht for the glass, which is not only kind of off putting seeing as we're in a restaurant and thats not standard practive back home, but 250 baht is almost ten dollars, that could buy you a whole set of nice glasses here.

So by fat the most expensive meal we've had to date. Also there were ants on the breadsticks.

After dinner and a pass through the night bazaar, we headed to the cat bar, where a jam night type event was just getting underway. They already had 2 guitars and a bass so I joined them on drums. I actually played pretty well until they started playing Stairway to heaven. At that point it occured to me that I have no idea how the drums go in that song... So one trainwreck later I stopped drumming and they turned on the drum machine.
We're going to go back tonight so I can play some guitar and redeem myself a little bit.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb