A New Permanent Addition!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
October 22nd 2013
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 18.8, 98.98

So from GU Bay, Danny and I made our way back to Bangkok and had fun hanging out in the Kho San Road area for a couple of days before heading onwards. Thankfully we've both done the scorpion/cricket eating stuff so we don't revisit that side of the Kho San, I enjoy seeing more new places in Bangkok which Danny knows better than I do and even though it is mayhem, it's so completely fascinating that it's hard not to love the madness.

Surprising, I spotted a familiar figure and ran up to surprise my friend Steve who I last saw in Kathmandu over a year and a half ago... it's a small world. He comes to join Danny and I for a few beers and it's a fun night, it's nice that Steve and Danny get on, so much so that by the end of the night we're all talking about doing the 'Darian Gap' together in the not too distant future... watch this space you just never know!!

From Bangkok we catch the overnight bus to Chiang Mai which takes around 15 hours, it's a bit of a long hall and although I slept most of the way, Danny started out snoozing but woke around midnight and couldn't get back to sleep... oh the joys of overnights! On our arrival in Chiang Mai we're put off at a petrol station outside the town and are forced to share song hews with other travelers... no one is pleased but apparently this is common and seems another money making scam!

We get off in the city and try to get to the Burma border as my visa is due to run out, but it looks like we need to wait until the following day and instead take another song hew to the hotel. This is a funny trip with me telling the driver the hotel is near the 7 Eleven... honestly it's well seen I'd been traveling all night... Danny was in stitches and reminded me of it often!! On arrival I was delighted that friends Catherine and Janice would be around and after check in we decided to stay up for a few hours, thinking an afternoon nap would be better and decided to order beer for breakfast!!.

I took Danny around Chang Mai, looking at some of the many temples, but on our way out I stopped in at tattoo shop that I had visited previously. The girl had designed a tattoo for me but didn't have the time to do it before I left unfortunately but it was still on my thoughts. I was delighted that she still had had the sketches etc. I reconfirmed a price with her and asked her when she could fit me in if I was to have it done. So I left full of thoughts and input from Danny who loved the design I was just a bit unsure where to put it, Danny suggested my foot and after trying it out it seemed like the perfect place.

So we continue our sight seeing but half way around I make the decision to have my tattoo done and before I know it Danny has whipped me back round to make a time with the artist before I back out... job done... she asks me to come back in half an hour giving her time to prepare everything. I suggested a bit longer and got Danny to take me for a beer or two to calm my nerves, what was i letting myself in
Original designOriginal designOriginal design

Took us a few attempts and an education in Scottish culture !!
for?

I was relieved when she started and I felt really calm and I wasn't in too much pain, I didn't really know what to expect, and as it's on the bony part of my foot I thought it would have been agony. But I was relaxed and confident I had made the right decision, and relieved that Danny came with me initially to settle me in and came back to check on me. The procedure took around two and a half hours and by the end I was starting to get fairly uncomfortable but was delighted by the result and I'm glad I had it done. It definitely marks a period in my life which I will never forget, my Scottish roots with the Flower of Scotland design which I had 5 stars added too which for me represent those family and friends that I miss 'I may not always see you, but you're always there'... and now are a permanent reminder for me. My foots wrapped in cling film and I've cream to add everyday and I head back to the hotel with Danny for a celebratory beer and can't stop looking at my foot!

We get a bus early the next morning to head into Burma to extend our visas but it's a long trip after just arriving, roughly 4-5 hours each way which leaves us only an hour at the border to visit one of the markets before returning. We manage to meet up with Catherine and Janice and I enjoy having a catch up before deciding to head off the Shambhala Meditation Retreat with Janice to help her get the place opened up again for the season, now I didn't think this is something that we would be doing but was a great experience.

So after exploring markets and temples of Chiang Mai we're on the move again...yet strangely enough I don't really have any photos, I must have been having too much fun!



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0717s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb