Gentle Giants


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
June 27th 2014
Published: June 28th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hi to everyone back home!

I have just spent 5 amazing days in Chiang Mai, Thailand (I think one of my favourite places so far!). There were lots of beautiful temples to visit where all the locals and the monks were so very friendly and willing to answer all of my many questions. One of their answers seems to spiral into a load of additional questions from me!

Chiang Mai, although the second busiest city in Thailand (after Bangkok) had a wonderful calming feeling about it. I think London could learn a thing or two from Chiang Mai.

The highlight of my time in Chiang Mai was visiting the 'Elephant Nature Park', just north of the city. The park is a sanctuary for abused/ over worked elephants. I was very humbled and felt extremely emotional when I learnt the background to the sanctuary and the elephants that lived there. The 39 elephants that live there have been rescued for many different reasons, such as: abuse from their owners, street begging, land mine injuries, over worked through trekking and the entertainment industry, there a lot who have been reared by the sanctuary's owner as well from a baby orphan. Each elephant had its own story and horrific background. However, all of them are extremely happy now, making new families and herds. Although none of these elephants came to the sanctuary with their original family/ herd (as they are often separated from them very early on to work) they form new herds!

The owner of the park 'Lek' (which means 'small' in Thai) is an inspirational woman who has dedicated her life to helping elephants... she calls her sanctuary 'elephant heaven'. She is fighting for the elephants and has dedicated her entire life to it... I just wish more people would follow her lead as these gentle giants are so mistreated and unfortunately it is largely down to the money us tourists bring that it continues.

This is a day that I will never forget and I will hold very close to my heart... It was a day to be a part of their world rather than a show for us humans. It was an amazing experience to meet these elephants, some blind and with physical difficulties that are so determined to continue and have a new lease for life.

There is far too much to write about this day so I will have to tell you all my stories when I get back! I have attached some photos for you... some of bathing the elephants in the river and lots more!

Lots of love,

Miss Jo x


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb