Well,I made it


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 31st 2014
Published: January 31st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hands down my longest travel days ever! I arrived last night at around midnight, popped a sleeping pill, stuffed earplugs in and hoped for at least 10 hours of sleep, well I got 6 but feel great! The airport was interesting. If you want to make fast friends hang out at the cell phone charging station! with a spare charger! I saw this young guy running around trying to stick his Korean plug into every outlet he could find. I called join over and hooked him up. He was very grateful and gifted me with a half a stack of Pringles potato chips (airport booty!) then a young girl came up and asked me if she could use my plug, and we started rot chat. She was going home to Laos cause her mother died 3days ago, and she started to cry. So I hugged her, and as her iPad charged she showed me pictures of her mom days before her death, and the post death set up in her families home. (Apparently they keep the bodies at home for a few days) she told me about a the people in beer family that had died recently and about her grandmother visiting her after her death yelling at her to stop eatLNG junk foot (she heeded the advise and has lost a lot of weight since then.I was not sitting next to her for my 14 1/2 hour flight...

Got plenty of good advice from well swishing Thai people on the trip over, only take a red taxi, negotiating price first, don't get ripped off.

Arrived in Chaig Mai, thank goodness the guy was there with a sign with my name, got into his non-red taxi and trusted that he was t ting to rob me and dump me off on the side of the road and lucky me, he brought me to my hotel, safe and sound.

My bathroom is open air so while enjoying g my bath this morning I got to enjoy a blue sky land birds singing and palms swaying. Anyone who knows me knows this is incredibly ideal and no one lives a blue sky like an upstate nyer in January. My room is like a tree house up high with lots of windows and trees.

The hotel is very lovely and I have a 120 min (35 dollar) Thai massage scheduled for later today. until the , soaking up all the vitamin D I can!

Advertisement



31st January 2014

Notes from mom
So happy to read y our blog! I am having a 1 hr facial for 5 X that amt! Your hotel sounds devine. Cant wait to hear about food. What did y ou eat for bfst? Keep us posted - love reading about your adventures. Love to you Mom
1st February 2014

Thanks mom, all is well, love you!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb