First Stop! Chiang Mai, Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
May 22nd 2012
Published: May 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Japan Malaysia Thailand Cambodia and Bali

A 6 hour flight from Japan to Kuala Lumpur gets you into the humidity, another hour south on an AirAsia flight and you're in the heart of Chiang Mai, Thailand. Although considered more rural and less touristy than the southern islands of Thailand, the effects of globalization are definitely evident here. Apparently the further north you go, the more relaxed and slow the culture becomes. Wish I had had more time to travel further north-- maybe next time!

Cheap lodging!Cheap lodging!Cheap lodging!

I highly recommend Montrara Happy House - for about $10 a night with air-conditioning, towels, two bottles of water ever day, breakfast, awesome location and very helpful staff!
Chiang Mai, Thailand.

What a place!! Overall thoughts: excellent food (especially vegetarian though I am not a vegetarian), reasonable prices, extremely friendly people (locals and foreigners alike), and comfortable atmosphere. A great starting location to my three week trip. I was very happy that I started here instead of in Bangkok--first impressions can never be changed, and I'm glad I got Chiang Mai!

The excitement and energy of stepping foot in a new city, especially after several hours of travel and a planned but uncomfortable overnight stay in an unairconditioned airport (Kuala Lumpur), is settling in and finding your home-base for your new part of the universe. Finding my hostel is always first on the list- after dropping bags, a quick change of clothes, and a new SD card in my spankin new camera (Canon EOS Kiss x4 or Canon EOS T2i as it's called in the states), I'm ready to explore. Oh, and a bottle of water is highly recommended, while a map can prove to be handy even with a good sense of direction!

So, Chiang Mai. Step outside my hostel onto a quiet side street lined with used book stores (catering to the foreigners with mostly German, French and English books), two quiet cafes, and the ever-important ATM on the corner, standing as a beacon of the unforeseen expenses that this beautiful little city will decide to throw at you at very inopportune moments. (more on that to come). Across from this ATM is one of the most chaotic roundabouts I had ever seen, granted, I had never been to Bangkok! A disordered, helter-skelter colorful collaboration of luxury cars, beat-up trucks, maniacal motorcycles, scooters, bicycles, tuk-tuks, and stray dogs are quite impressive, to say the least. How am I ever going to cross this street?!?!!??! Somehow, in front of the Starbucks on the corner of this roundabout, there was a crosswalk. Not with signs, or lights, or paint, rather a place where people had discovered a weak link in the madness, and figured it was better to take their chances there than anywhere else. I carefully waited, like a hawk circling its prey, and then I saw my chance, took a breath, gripped my camera bag, and ran like hell. First small accomplishment of crossing the street? Check. Now to the next adventure on the other side of the street...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb