insert "Closing Time" song here


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
June 26th 2006
Published: June 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well we are at the last stop of the Biggin adventure - Thailand!

If I get any more mosquito bites I am going to jump off a giant budda. I've never felt itch like this before. Good lord....

Ok so where was I....after our mighty tree hugging adventures we headed across the river to Thailand. As soon as we crossed the border we caught a 2 hour bus to Chang Rai. Chang Rai is a super neat city. They have a really awesome night market, lots of super neat shops, groovy pubs and friendly people....What more could we ask for? We did a day trip to the golden triangle, saw the opium museum, and even went to Myanmar for one hour, to shop and get our passports stamped.

After hanging out in Chang Rai for a few days we went to Chang Mai. We were really excited to see a movie theatre, and saw the new Xmen movie the day we arrived. It was a really great movie.

We got to see some Thai boxing. Thai Boxing is quality! I loved the druming that is played during matches, the before game praying, the warmups.... I loved watching
Only in ThailandOnly in ThailandOnly in Thailand

Just cruising down the street in downtown Chang Rai
the different styles of fighting. Im not one for fighting, I hate people hitting other people, but this was different. It was very cultural. Really neat to see. There were 8 matches in total. The younger boxers went first. They looked about 10-13 years old! There was a womans match - A local against a girl from Sweden and then the final match with the adults. When the matches were over I gave Adam a whoopin at foozeball😊

We spent a day at a local park and got to see the coolest game being played. Its like volleyball, but they players use their feet instead of their hands. Seeing them "ninja kick" to score was crazy.

We visited some villages. The one I liked the most was the "Long neck" village. I couldn't believe the brass they wore around their necks. I don't think Ill be picking up the trend anytime soon 😊 That business is HEAVY. I can't believe how much the bras weighed!

Other that that we have been relaxing by the pool, going to some really neat pubs - including one where they had little rabbits freely running around. We have met a lot of really cool people. Thai people are really friendly. We also managed to take a Thai cooking class. I can officially make the best green curry I have eva tasted. We got to keep a really great cook book which includes the 6 yummy dishes we made. Ill for sure have to have a Thai dinner party when I get home!

So right now we are in Bangkok getting ready for Warren to get here so we can hit up some beaches!

Later!







Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Lazy in the parkLazy in the park
Lazy in the park

Experimental images....
Ten and I Ten and I
Ten and I

harrassing the pub owner


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb