Temples and Tours anyone


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
March 13th 2006
Published: March 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

City WallsCity WallsCity Walls

You can swim if you like
Chang Mai, heart of Northern Thailand and city of water.
With over 1.5 million people in Chiang Mai the city is divided into 2 sections, The old city in which I am staying in, is a 2klm square in which a wall was built around it with a moat on the out side of it. This was built over 700 yrs ago to protect them from invasions. If temples are what you want to see then Chiang Mai will not let you down as some 300 Temples are scattered through the area, with Wat Phra That Doi Suthep temple perched above the city, good views of the city can be seen from this point but must be done early in the morning as the smog mixed with fire smoke makes it harder to see latter on in the day.
If you want to organise your trekking trip from here than that want be a problem as every second shop is selling tours of every kind. No shortage of western food, as the Foreigners who have found new love have bought property and need a income for the new found country to survive. It’s so cheap to survive, my 1 bedroom with
HomeHomeHome

I could stay in this
shower and toilet is costing me 100baht(A$3.30) fan included. My meals for the day are costing me about 50baht Noodle with vegies no meat.
Before arriving I thought I would stay for only 1 night as cities are not really my thing but I met a Swedish fella named Robert who is writing a book about Thailand at a bar and he introduced me to his friend Nee who is a professional travel Guide for a travel agency in Germany. She offered to show me around and in the process is teaching me how to speak Thai. So for the last 4 days we have been out sightseeing places that only the Thai people know about, just brilliant I say. Mae Sa Valley located about a hour on bike out of Chiang Mai is a must see and place to stay. As it is the low season it is very quite in many places, I really would not want to be in Chiang Mai when the high season is on. but still needing to get away from all this pollution caused buy the lovely 2 stroke motor bikes and the tuk tuks. I think hiring a pushbike is a great
Home sweet HomeHome sweet HomeHome sweet Home

But hey this is better
way to the see city and surrounding areas as there are so many little paths and roads you would miss them on motor bikes, mind you it is very hot and only the fit might like this choice.
The 8th of march has arrived and yes another year older, to my surprise Nee had organised with her brother, friends and myself to enjoyed a night of drinks and great food at a Thai only Restaurant sitting on the Mae Nam Ping River with live Thai music playing Something special to remember.
Now able to communicate in pigeon Thai, it is so much fun and the respect you get back and enjoyment it gives me is great plus you get much better deals when buying your daily needs.
Friday night the 10th ventured off to the Kawila stadium to watch some more Muay Thai Boxing, brilliant stuff and not for the faint hearted. That night finished about 5am the next morning and boy did I wake up feeling pretty hung over, missed my check out time so Sunday I finally made it out of Chiang Mai and made my way to Chiang Rai north by local bus, enjoyed the comforts of no aircon bottom of the range style, great until the fan above our heads started screaming which resulted in it being turned off, boy were we dripping wet by the time we got off, but hey we made it with out it breaking down so that’s a plus.
Oh how could I forget to tell, that bang with toe is actually a broken toe as results show, and me being cheap with my new purchase of flip flops I managed to get a reaction to the rubber on my right foot which got infected between the big toe webbing-must look funny me walking aroung now with 1 thong and 1 sandle
Well to those who are keeping the country alive with work so long and rest who I have met on this great journey keep safe

Shannon(livo)


Advertisement



14th March 2006

Where the hell are you
Hey mate its dave (NZ) here, i meet you at the temples in Bangkok. Me up in Chang Mai, i think i will stay for a while too. Staying in old city. I tried ya email address but didnt seem to work. My mob in thailand is 07010061. Give us a call if you got time and we can catch up for a drink, Cher
14th March 2006

great to hear from you
Hi son it go to hear from you and the wonderful time you are having hope you got my email for you brithday if not happy brithday love mum
19th April 2006

Gday champ
Just worked the fuckin bog thing out and found your novels. Sue is good getting closer. Work fucked up and gone a little quite so I'm getting a truck and bobcat and going in balls and all. Found good second hand rig and low hour machine with attachments so organising that. Good to hear you are well and trip is good. Tigers are rooted already sorry (not joking). Happy bday for last month. Don't stick it in anything I wouldn't ! be well CLAFF

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb