Chop, chop, chop


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
February 8th 2006
Published: February 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

CarvingCarvingCarving

Can you tell what it is yet?
We return to Chaing Mai Thai Cookery School for the final day in our course. Today Big Mama and Boom are taking class. This morning we start with some vegetable carving. It's not easy and making roses from tomato skins is very fiddly. We move onto the biggest carrot I've ever seen in my life and make leaves, returning to the tomato for a lotus flower. This is just the beginning but I don't have the patience or skill. We move onto pork soup with noodles, it's one of the only things to have no chilli but it's still delicious. We break for soup breakfast and return to make spring rolls. It's not too difficult and they are the nicest ones I've ever tasted, bye bye frozen variety I'll make my own from now on. Roast duck curry is next and I'm really looking forward to this one. It's very fruity and a favourite of the Royal Family. Rich and delicious with pineapple and grapes, followed by stir fried chicken with ginger. This was so quick I think it will be making an appearance for dinner some time next week.
We sit down to a very large lunch, my cold is now streaming and I'm glad that I bought so many tissues! I did however find some excellent Thai drugs in the form of decongestant, they piss all over Neurofen cold and flu so I'll be stocking up before leaving.
We finish this afternoon with chicken in pandanus leaves, you have to make a pocket out of the leaves and then stuff it with the chicken. It's not easy, but it is worth the effort. Desert today is sticky rice with mango, it's lazy for us as our teacher does all the work. Good job really as most of us can hardly move, I'm looking forward to a nap before we head off for the German place this evening for dinner with Big Mama, Boom and Jans.
Jans was cooking with us today and although he's German he's living in China and leaves tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

BoomBoom
Boom

She makes spring rolls look really easy.


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb