It Begins - In Chiang Mai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
August 27th 2008
Published: August 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, I'm starting out on my 1st ever backpacking trip and I don't really know what to expect. I've come to Thailand with a return date somewhere around October 2nd, but I have no set plans. Well, almost no set plans. I did sort of set up my 1st week:

Aug 23
I arrived in Chiang Mai via Bangkok from Macau, China. The Sound Of Music tour has just completed, for now at least, and some of the cast/crew and I have come here to take a little rest. I had never heard of Chiang Mai before I started looking into where to go, but after reading up, it seemed like it had plenty of fun things to do. So we got in minus Nicole, who had to stay behind in Macau to work out travel details for the people held over by Typhoon Nuri. It sure sucks to be the Company Manager! The rest of us explored a little at night making our 1st visit to the Night Bazaar. I though I had seen every kind of market when I was in China, but this one really does beat all those out. They sell everything from clothes to jewelry to ... I don't know... just anything!! What makes it different from China is that the things are well made and cheaper. I sorta wish that I had saved Chiang Mai for last so I could stock up on gifts, but for now I am strictly on a 1 item in-1 item out policy for my backpack. (we'll see how long that lasts). We shopped around and I did by some water sandals, and threw out my old flip flops. I grabbed a tuk-tuk and we made our way to a fantastic dinner. It was my birthday after all, so the waitresses did some special things and Christine cooked me a flaming banana dish right at the table. We then went back to the lovely Parasol Inn and crashed. What a good Birthday!!

Aug 24
Again, No Nicole.
Today our activities begin. We went with Siam Rafting and did a 2 hour drive out into the jungle to begin our white water rafting adventure. I was a little nervous having never rafted before, but after a nice meal of delicious Thai food, they went over all the ins and outs of what to do. I was put in a raft with Christine and Danny, and of course our guide named "Ay". We practiced for about 5 minutes and then it was on to the rapids. Since it is the rainy season water levels are high. It made for a fast moving trip. They said we would have to see how we did, before we could get the OK to do the really big rapids level 4+. It was amazing. We jumped back and forth, paddled like crazy and sometimes just ducked in the raft and held on for dear life. Nobody ever seems to confused when the guide yells "get down", you just do it! We stayed on the water for about 2.5 hours and finished with some delicious pineapple. Of course everyone was exhausted on the ride home afterward and passed out. We stopped on for some food at and English pub style place right on the backpacker street. It was nice to eat some normal western food after being in China for so long. How they know how to cook stuff here and not there, I will never know. We had a few Singhas, the local Thai beer, and went home for a nap.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb