Chiang Mai part 3 - Sightseeing and Songkran


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
April 13th 2008
Published: April 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 37-April 11th: I awoke early - 8 AM - due to Anna's alarm going off. We shared a room to split the cost, since we were both traveling solo. I said goodbye to her as she was off to a cooking class. I tried to sleep some more, I was still feeling the effects of last night's partying! I finally got up at 12 noon and got myself showered and headed out around 1 PM for some sighseeing.

The Brits from the trek were up and ready to eat also, so we ate together and chatted a bit. Then I took off to walk around and see some wats. Everyone on the street is already out throwing water for Songkran, the Thai New Year. It doesn't even start til April 13th but they're out already! This is just the beginning! I got wet of course, Chiang Mai is the place to be to get soaked during Songkran!

I walked to Wat Chedi Luang, some cool ruins there. Then I was off to Wat Phra Singh, which was busy for the holiday. There's a big, gold Buddha inside and flowers and money hanging everywhere for Songkran Festival. There's a nice park out back where I sat for a bit. I heard music and saw people in costumes go by. I followed the sound of the music and came across a dance performance, Thai dancing with traditional music and clothing. Very cool! I stayed and watched and took photos. I had no idea that I would stumble upon this event!

I walked across the street from the wat and ate dinner and chatted with my nice server named Eve. I went over to the internet cafe and then back to the hostel to meet several of the trekking crew - the Brits and Anthony. We went back to Utopia for the buffet dinner, then home shortly after. We were all quite tired from the previous night! All in all another good day in Chiang Mai.

Day 38-April 12th: Songkran is kicking into high gear, still ahead of schedule but not surprising. The kids are out of school and armed with buckets of water and water pistols. Watch out! I had breakfast at Royal, checked out, walked around the city one last time. I called my parents and sent my Thailand postcards. All along Moon Muang Road, the main drag for foreigners and bars and guesthouses, next to the canal, it was madness with people throwing water at cars and other people. I carefully took photos and dodged the onslaught of water, water everywhere! Of course I got a little wet along the way. It's all part of the deal being in Chiang Mai in April!

I walked to Tha Pae Gate, one of the main gates and a long brick remnant of the former city wall. I hadn't been by there yet plus that was a staging area where everything was getting set up for the big New Year celebration. I randomly saw Silje from the trek - she was out on the street with her bucket and squirt gun joining in the wet festivities. Fun!

Back at Royal, I said my goodbyes to the Brits and took a songthaew to Arcade Bus Station, where I bought a ticket to Chiang Rai. The bus was at 3:45 PM. I arrived in the evening and walked with 3 Brits to a nearby guesthouse, Baan Bua. I was hoping we could split accommodation, always better for the solo traveler. They wanted a triple room so I was in a single room, which is quite a luxury and was quite nice, despite paying a higher amount. I decided it wasn't worth shopping around for a bargain at this hour.

I put my bags down and walked over to the night market which is near the bus station, not far from Baan Bua. I bought a few small things and headed home for the night for a good night's sleep. It's gonna be a busy - and wet - day tomorrow!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0606s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb