Wait, where am I again? Thailand?


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
October 2nd 2005
Published: October 2nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

It's been a long week. I've gone on 5 dives, met a lot of people, obtained roughly 4 new injuries, spent 24 hours on trains, seen 5 sharks, read another book (East of Eden), drank countless coconut milkshakes (they are amazing), and sat on the beach for many hours. (Don't worry, Bo, I put on sunscreen.)

In a less condensed version: I went to Ko Tao, a very small island in the Gulf of Thailand, on Sunday. When I got there, the people in my taxi told me to go to the Buddha View Dive Resort, so I went. (I sold my guidebook to a used bookshop in Bangkok, so I basically just go where other people suggest now. It's an interesting way to travel, if a bit nerve-wracking at times.) It was a decent place - got my own bathroom, but the toilet didn't exactly flush, which was slightly disgusting. Anyway, I met Elgin on my first dive. He's a big Alaskan guy who talks constantly, which was nice for me because it meant I didn't have to struggle to keep the conversation going. It did get a bit much at times, especially because I was used to not talking all day everyday, and suddenly I had this person talking my ear off. But we hung out a bunch in the next few days, and I also met his friend Jay from Germany, who was really cool as well. Diving was great. It's not just seeing beautiful fish and coral, its the experience itself. When you're diving, every breath you take affects how high you float in the water. When I was in Honduras for my certification, my teacher said that diving is a little like underwater meditation. Breathe in, float up, breathe out, float down. It's an amazing experience to be weightless as well. As I wrote in my little intro, I saw 5 sharks on one of the dives. The best part, though, is swimming through schools of fish.

After spending a few days in Ko Tao, diving in the morning, reading books on the beach in the afternoon, eating at the on-the-beach grill at my hotel, and hanging out with Jay and Elgin, I decided it was time to move on. So I boarded a 5 hour ferry to Champhon, a 12 hour train to Bangkok, and another 12 hour train to Chiang Mai. The weird thing about transportation is that time seems to go by really fast whenever I'm in a moving vehicle, whether it be car, train, ferry, plane, or bus. At the end of the second train ride I got to talking to some Dutch guys about where to stay in Chiang Mai (not having a guidebook is good because it forces me to talk to people) and they offered for me to go with them to their hotel. We had to get off the train in Lamphon and take a bus because the Chiang Mai train station was flooded. So we waited on the side of the "super-highway" for awhile, until we got a ride to the hotel. Then we drove through the flooded streets to the hotel. It is the nicest place I've stayed in Thailand - AC, hot water, and even a TV! It's like living in the lap of luxury. (Only $10/night) Then we went out to the night market for dinner, where there are all these little booths where you can buy food for the equivalent of 25-50 cents for a meal. The only difficult thing is that all the names of the food are written in Thai, which makes it difficult to know what you're ordering at times. You just have to look at what is being made, and point, and hope it's okay.

After a luxurious sleep in my cool room, I woke up this morning with the sense of desperation that comes to me whenever I arrive in a new place. What am I doing here? How will I meet people? What is there to do? Where is the nearest internet cafe? I need a new book to read! Aaah! (I'd like to say I wake up, jump out of bed, and eagerly chase adventures, but it's more like I stumble out of bed, take a shower, get dressed, step out the door, take a deep breath, and think, "Okay, what now?")

Anyway, that's about it for my adventures this week. I hope everyone is doing well and I'll keep you updated.

With Love,
Daniela

Advertisement



2nd October 2005

Insanely jealous
I wish I could drop out of grad school and join you. I hope that you're feeling better now and I can't wait until our next chat!
2nd October 2005

Wow! You are amazing!
2nd October 2005

hello from la
Daniela: Boy are you brave, or else I've gotten chicken in my old age. I can't read everyting but what I am reading sounds exotic at the least. Emuly is getting them too. Jake's at nYU Film school and enjoying nyc. Friday night he talked across the Brooklyn Bridge at 5 a.m. Have you contacted Fred Ceely? Love, Betty
3rd October 2005

min
its so grea to hear the wonderful things you are doing! Shana tova dg!
3rd October 2005

schools of fish
As happy as I am with my school of young minds I'l love to be surrounded by fish too. I also really like the concept of diving as a meditation. I often use breath as a source of my meditation practice and will think of this. Thank you. SHANAH TOVA!
3rd October 2005

Happy New Year
Reading this just takes me away to those beaches. Sounds as though you are doing really well. How long will you stay in T land? Can't wait to read about your next adventure. L'Shana Tova!!! Much love, A. Margie
4th October 2005

Ausomeness.
Hey Daniella!!! It's great to get your blogs. Are you writing much for yourself aside from the blog? It sounds like quite a time. I'm at Evergreen State college now, and loving it, even if a little lonely. I went and fell in love, and that was/ is indescribably wonderfull,and hellishly confusing and painfull, and now she's in London mixing drinks in night clubs to make pounds so she can acompany me to South America in January. At least that's the plan. weird. Not something either of us was looking for, but nothing that can be denied. se la vida.... Keep 'em comming, with much love, Michael

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb