A LAZY RELAXING DAY IN CHIANG MAI


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
October 21st 2007
Published: October 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Chiang MaiChiang MaiChiang Mai

Wat Phra Sing built in 1345
Sunday 21st October - When I was in the salon last night I said I would return in the morning. Once more this place had moved on me - I walked to the left and then to the right and then in desperation I got a tuk tuk but because the street was one way, after turning up here and around we ended up at the Hotel. So off we went again - of course it would have helped had I had a card to show but then sometimes that doesn't help. Ayway, after attempting to find this place three times, I paid the tuk tuk driver and got out. Decided not to try again and packed up my luggage and then another tuk tuk to two more temples as I also gave up trying to find an orphanage here in Chiang Mai. First temple was Wat Phra Sing built in 1345 and then Wat Chedi Luang. This was a 14th century temple and has an enormous chedi (the top part). I saw the many steps leading to the interior and thought to myself, no, I can't do them today. But, there was a sign"No entry". At this temple, you could
Chiang MaiChiang MaiChiang Mai

Chatting with the monks at Wat Phra Sing
have a chat to the monks who live and train here. It was a very nice short time speaking with these 4 very gentle men. I signed the visitors' book, was given a couple of little books on Buddahism and it was time to be taken to the Chiang Mai Airport for my 5.40 flight. Had a quick meal and then advised there was a delay so found an internet and checked my email but did not have a chance to reply to any as it was time to board.The plane took off at 6.40 and when I arrived at the UdonThani airport Bupha, Pier and Blop and the babysitter were there with nice big smiles to meet me and drive me back to Thong Fun. Arrived home at about 8.30 to be greeted by Kietnarong, the kids and Jon - think they were relieved I was back safely. It was then watching the practices going on for the Party tomorrow night of the English Camp and then finally to bed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Chiang MaiChiang Mai
Chiang Mai

Wat Chedi Luang
Chiang MaChiang Ma
Chiang Ma

Interior of another beautiful temple


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb