Weddings and Army Checkpoints


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
February 27th 2007
Published: February 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Susan's StudentsSusan's StudentsSusan's Students

Some of Susan's Kids getting ready for dancing.
Hey Everyone, Susan and I are making this post together, "Oh Are We?!" states the clever wit of Miss Susan G. We just got back from visiting Susan's village. I have to say WOW!, and I thought Lenox was barren! . . . (Oww Don't Hit Me!) (Just Kidding) Susan Agrees with me.

Anyway the village was really very cute and Susan has this very cool little place on the same road as the temple. When we got in we pretty much just crashed at her place and the next morning we went to check out her school. The kids were so freaking cute I think I got a cavity. (Joe only thinks their cute cuz he doesn't have to teach them and he doesn't see what their hands look like after lunch) We then took a walk up to the High School to get lunch at this little place that Susan likes, but they were closed. The reason for this is because there was a fair going on that day and that is where everyone was. It was very cool, I got to see all the kids dancing in traditional outfits and I got lead around by Susan and
Susan and CharupaneeSusan and CharupaneeSusan and Charupanee

Susan and her Co-Teacher
her Co-teacher and man did we get a lot of stares. Susan and I were the only non-thai people in the entire village. It was a strange feeling being so unique. I can understand why Susan goes a little crazier each day now :P

After that we bought some grilled chicken on the side of the road, granted I did not know it was chicken at the time and was just going to smile and nod my way through the meal. OH Susan wants me to mention the "Dim Sum" which is a kind of thai dumpling. We took a bit of a break after Susan met with the Big Boss of her ESAO (Education Services Area Office). Watched some Simpson's and then got ready for the Wedding. I had bought these really cool Northern Thai Style Shirts and it was a great chance to wear them. Susan did not look to bad herself. . . :P Anyway the wedding was very interesting, the Bride and Groom greet all the guests and then the guest present their gifts and tie a bit of string aroudn the wrists of the Bride and Groom, they then wear the string for the
Making Ice PopsMaking Ice PopsMaking Ice Pops

This is how they make Ice Pops in the Hill Tribes, you put a done of Ice in this bucket and then swish it around.
next week to ensure a happy marriage. We then sat down and they brought out this fantastic food and I had some Thai "Moonshine" (White Whiskey) I will see if I can get any to bring back, but i doubt it. Also has some "Sang Som" which is regular Whiskey. Very smooth . . . COUGH COUGH, spent the evening chatting in english with some of Susan's Coworkers and friends. Everyone was really nice and I even got dragged up to dance for a little bit. I was almost dragged up to sing, but there was no way on GODS GREEN EARTH I would do that. I don't even speak the language and they wanted me to sing it?!?!?!

WE headed back to Chiang Mai this morning and now we are just chilling till a night of shopping tonight. More to come later.




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Thai DancingThai Dancing
Thai Dancing

Some of Susan's Students Dancing
LunchLunch
Lunch

"Do I want to ask what kind of meat this is?" "It's Chicken Joe" "OH thank God!
Who is that Sexy MotherWho is that Sexy Mother
Who is that Sexy Mother

Don't I look dead Sexy! :P
Susan Trying to DanceSusan Trying to Dance
Susan Trying to Dance

Okay Okay she did very well, dancing with her Mae (Mother)
Horrible PictureHorrible Picture
Horrible Picture

"JOE GET OVER HERE AND SIT DOWN!!!"
MeMe
Me

In teh back of a Diesel Truck going up to a Temple (From a few days Ago)


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb