Leaving Chiang Mai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
February 5th 2007
Published: February 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Flower festivalFlower festivalFlower festival

Saai and I sitting amongst the flowers during Chiang Mai's annual flower festival (February 2-4)
I've returned to Los Angeles but my blog coverage of my trip to Thailand is not yet done. Let's get you through the last couple of days...

My last blog detailed our trek on Thursday, February 1. This update covers our remaining days in Chiang Mai (Friday & Saturday morning).

On Friday, we went to Libernard Cafe for lunch (visit #3 of the week!) and added a panang chicken dish to the mix (banana pancake & cafe latte is a given; the panang chicken is also a winner).

Afterwards we walked around town to see the beginning of the flower festival. This is an annual event in Chiang Mai and includes a parade (I just missed it last year). Saai loves flowers so we stopped many times to take a photo. Actually, I would say that Saai loves photos more than flowers, so we stopped many times with flowers as an excuse to take more photos. Is that about right, Saai?

Later, we met up with the American missionary pastors (and their families) from Saai's church. They were in Chiang Mai for an annual conference, and wanted to meet me (I only met the Thai pastor at
3 Sis3 Sis3 Sis

The entrance to my Bed & Breakfast by the Chedi Luang temple in Chiang Mai
the church service the weekend before). I enjoyed my time with them. The pastors (Greg & Ronnie) are both from the U.S. state of Georgia and speak Thai fluently from their years in this country. It was interesting to hear their stories and how they ended up in Thailand. Both are married to American wives (one has 2 kids, the other 3).

If you haven't noticed, I've been making the rounds to meet most of Saai's friends. I still haven't met Saai's family yet though since they live in southern Thailand (plus, meeting the parents is a BIG deal in Thailand).

For dinner Saai and I went to a Thai restaurant named Palaad Tawanron on a hilll overlooking Chiang Mai. This place gets great business (it's wasn't rated the #1 restaurant in Chiang Mai in 2006 for nothing). It has a great view, atmosphere, food, and is reasonably priced. Lots of Thais here which is a good sign for a Thai restaurant. We sat on the wooden deck overlooking the lake & city (it's a huge place and you can pick your seating area - check out the website). Reservations are a must for good seats.

The next
Banana pancakeBanana pancakeBanana pancake

and what's left of my Cafe Latte at Libernard Cafe
morning, I checked out of the 3 Sis Bed & Breakfast, met up with Saai, and went to Libernard Cafe yet again to say goodbye to the owner (and eat some banana pancakes!). From there, it was off to the airport to, sadly, depart from Chiang Mai.

Bangkok coming soon...

Look! There goes Dave!








Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Panang chickenPanang chicken
Panang chicken

@ Libernard Cafe
Libernard CafeLibernard Cafe
Libernard Cafe

The downstairs patio
Check that outCheck that out
Check that out

What am I looking at?
Saai with more flowersSaai with more flowers
Saai with more flowers

on Friday during the Flower festival


7th February 2007

Photo girl
Yep, You're right.I love photosmore than flowersThanks for taking my photos. You're good photographer.Is that your second job?? :-p Will you available on my graduate day :-)

Tot: 0.307s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 82; dbt: 0.1721s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb