Angry man


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-East Thailand » Udon Thani
August 31st 2010
Published: August 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today was a nightmare. I knew it was gonna be because of the travel involved but my stress levels were pushed today and I'm glad its over. I had to leave Laos this morning because today was the last day on my visa....or so I thought!

The first part of the journey from Don Det to Pakse was wonderful. I'd said goodbye to Canada and Cecilia and now I was alone again, as free as a bird. Marvin Gayes 'Lets get it on' was the first song my ipod churned out upon pressing shuffle and the weather outside was awesome. I was glad to be alone once again, a true free spirit. Its not until I get to the Pakse bus station and pull out my passport that I realize I was meant to leave Laos on the 30th and not on the 31st! I had read that the fine at the border is 80,000 kip (about 9 quid) per every over stayed day but I had no cash on me. I was determined to spend every last note I had in Laos because I knew I wouldn't be able to change em back into Baht once in Thailand. I hailed a tuk tuk and proceeded to the ATM, withdraw 100,000 and headed back to the bus station. I had twenty minutes left before the bus departed so I ordered a green curry at the restaurant outside. The last call for the coach was announced ten minutes early so I had to miss out on my curry, that would have been my breakfast as I skipped that this morning and it was now 3.30. Plus I'd already paid for it so I lost my money too. GGGRRRRR!!!! I was fuming when I got on the bus. Some dick asks for my ticket when I board and he insists I sit next to this Chinese old man even though the bus is nearly empty. I wait til he disappears then I move. I like my own space.

I tried to read my book but couldn't concentrate due to hunger thoughts and losing my money on the food. I watch some family guy on my notepad and then edit some photos I'd taken the previous day. Thirty minutes later and were at border control. As predicted, customs officials pull me up on my visa dates and inform me the fine has gone up to 100,000!!! Im twenty thousand short with no ATM for miles. The official makes me wait til the other thirty or so passengers have checked through. I turn round at the queue and curse loudly, much louder than anticipated. The crowd looks at me in disbelief, Im amazed at how angry I actually am. After all the shit that's happened since Ive been here I just wanna get out. I crave for Thailand. I pace around for twenty more minutes when the official calls me over. He's in a good mood today and accepts the 80,000 I have in my clenched fist. I throw him a fake smile and run over the border. A sense of overwhelming achievement rises up inside me. Back on the bus I boss some Drum & Bass on my ipod. Im happy again, for now.

From the border to Ubon Ratchathani I fall into a hazy coma. Last night we put away some serious beers and the late afternoon hangover was showing no sympathy, mixed with the sensations of hunger I was more than ready for a nice hotel room. I decided to stay in a 4 star hotel. After the earlier stress's I felt I deserved an upgrade to the usual guest house. I checked my Lonely Planet and decided on the Phadaeng Hotel. 500 Baht a night, I booked for two sleeps. I intend to have a look round tomorrow. The girl at the reception puts me on the 3rd floor, I cant be arsed telling her I want a bottom floor so just take the key and get in the lift. I opened my room door and it was a welcoming oasis with king size bed, TV, air con, a fridge and bath towels with the texture of candy floss. I throw my bag down and turn on the light an guess what I receive.......ELECTRIC SHOCK! No shit, I went flying. I swear I could smell singed hair and the jolt knocked me straight back into the wall causing me bang my elbow full force on the door frame. My mood back tracked to mid afternoon once again I cursed out loud and kicked the wall. I stormed down stairs and demanded another room. The staff were a little concerned about my behavior and I felt a tad embarrassed for a moment. I calmed down and explained that I'd had a bad day. The woman behind the desk was very sympathetic and threw me another key to another room. Once inside I throw my junk on the bed and head out to a restaurant. When inside some old dude starts mocking me and I feel anger boiling up inside me again. I throw him a fake smile and sit quietly in the corner to eat my chicken curry, it would be the one and only meal I consume all day.

Back at the room I cant sleep. I upload all my decent Laos pics on facebook and start to watch Michael Jackson's 'This is it' documentary. Forty minutes into it and fully engrossed, the picture changes to High
School Musical. The bastards downstairs have changed the satellite channel. I figure this is a fucking conspiracy poking fun on my behalf. Fuck this, I'm off to sleep.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb