Working hard for my money


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-East Thailand » Roi Et
May 30th 2011
Published: May 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

I apologize for the month and a half long silence I haven't forgotten about you. I'd like to pretend I was just to busy to write, but the truth is I'm not. I spend my days working hard at the office which included stalking friends on facebook, chatting with the lovely ladies of my tesseban, and downloading movies. That is not to say I do nothing. There are days spend serving food to folks, walking here and there to listen to meetings I don't understand and of course studying Thai which I wish I could report has improved enough to have in depth conversations, but still my main topics of convo is food, weather, and my lack of boyfriend.

Despite the boring days stuck in the office, I have been having a blast. After Songkran came a 2 1/2 week long futbol tourney, followed by Bon Ban Fie (Rocket Festival), followed by a 5 day holiday, followed by a "camping" trip, ending at this moment with a trip to see 15 other crazy volunteers.

Lets start with the tourney. Now I had learned about this very tourney the first few minutes I was in KuKaSing and learning about this tourney has kept me on my toes. Trying to decipher the date and if I got to play took up until moments before the game was being played.

The night before I was informed I would be playing goalie and as my friend took shots on me that a 4 year old could stop I plead to them that I had played before. This just lead them to explain to me that the goalie can use their hands and has to stand in front of a net. Hanging my head I resigned myself to playing goalie, but if that was to be the case I would be the best darn goalie out there.

But when the next day came and I was given no goalie uniform I was thrilled to realize I would be on the field. But not to start off with, no for what may be the first time ever I didn't start a game. Instead I watched, cringing each time the ball got near the net, and nearly dying when the ball ended up in the back of the net.

Well with us down 1-0 you might as well throw the farang into the game and that's what my coach did, not until after he explained which goal I was suppose to shoot in. Perhaps a bit annoyed I walked out onto the field and stood in the exact spot the ball would come to. How did I know this, well I was paying attention. It was a goal kick, every goal kick landed in the same spot and as expected it landed at my feet. I passed the ball, got it back, and scored. Creating an assist moments later, my little team won the game and thus my stardom was born.

The rest of the tourney goes off not in the magical fashion as I think it should but in a roller coaster ride of emotions. A rent a ref that was married to a player on the other team, hugging on the field which I'm pretty sure is illegal, having the ball stolen from me... by my own team. But in the end we come out of the tournament in third place. I should be happy, that's better than 4th-8th, but I desired the gold, or at least the cheap plastic covered in gold coloring trophy. I can't talk about this anymore, its just too hurtful.

Bon Ban Fie was next and this is the Rocket Festival. KuKaSing is known for their three day affair that consist of more concerts than rockets, but in the end if the rockets don't explode into pretty fireworks I don't care about them so much, so I'll take the concerts.

And that is what I did. Danced and drank for three and a half days straight culminating in the shooting of a few rockets.

During the next two weeks a whole lot occurred. I went to visit the beach, some wats, more wats, and yes more wats. I don't remember their names, they come and go and eventually begin to look the same. Each of them are extremely beautiful and I do enjoy checking each and every one of them out.

I also had the opportunity to visit a waterfall, ride a banana boat, and play with some snakes. Guess which one I liked the most. If you said playing with snakes give yourself a prize! Constrictors were given to me to hold and it just made me miss my baby snake (if you don't know about baby snake, hes the little guy I was working with at my old job... creative name right?).

During the week I did get a bit of work done. And by work I mean I was exploited as the local farang. It sounds as if I resent that but I don't, it gives me the opportunity to go out and check things out. And I got to do this dressed in silk.




Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



2nd June 2011

enjoyed the pictures..
am amazed at the cleanliness of the city and its beauty. Is there also poverty that you have not showen us???You are certainly having a wonderful experience..do you feel you are getting much more than you are giving??? Truly enjoy your blogs and hope you will continue to "teach" us about that part of the world. Enjoy

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb