Bcgpsey's Capers


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-East Thailand » Khon Kaen
August 15th 2009
Published: August 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Siam MallSiam MallSiam Mall

Statue at the mall. Yup, that's me way down there.
I’ve been noticing that some bloggers have a name for their site. To show that I too feel a real attachment to my blog, I’m going with Bcgypsey’s Capers. I do still encourage positive, upbeat, ego pleasing comments.

Work is progressing on The Map, albeit slow but still moving along. I’ve taken several days away from the project to meet Bob in Bangkok. We spent a couple of days riding the BTS, MTR, river taxis and pink cabs. Sorry no elephants. Rush hour begins at 6am and goes until 8pm...no kidding, so they would have been quite the hindrance. We spent our last day before heading to Chaiyaphum visiting the floating market in Ratchaburi and then heading to Kanchanburi to visit the bridge over the river Kwai, which is called the Death Railway Bridge by the Thais. The bridge isn’t very impressive…it’s just the most visible and famous part of the 415km railway construction that WWII, POWs were forced to build by the Japanese. It was estimated to take 5 years to build but because of the brutal treatment of the forced laborers it took only 16 months and over 18,000 POW lives.

Bob fell right into my village and was accepted immediately. His work on the Map gained him instant recognition and fame. We found out a day before the event that the stage wall the map is on was to be used for the Queen Mother’s picture. There was to be a big celebration for her birthday. Of course the Map wasn’t even half way completed…how could we have a half painted wall…so disrespectful! OK, the plan now was to complete most of the countries on each end of the map, that way no one would even know Europe and Africa were missing! We were quite successful and received awards of achievement from the school, given to us by the Governor of Chaiyaphum. On that note we left to take the 5hour bus ride back to Bangkok and enjoyed a night of music and dance by Mama Mia! Yes it is touring live with an Australian cast. Pretty funny for an American if any of you have seen the show or movie. No matter, the music was still great.

Bob has now departed Thailand and is probably home in bed as I write this. It hardly seems like he was here which now makes me think
Lumpini ParkLumpini ParkLumpini Park

King Rama VI Statue
about the reality of what we do and see. Ahhhhhhh, I'll leave that for later. For those of you who want to step out of your comfort zone and come to Thailand, I promise I will not ask you to get up on the scaffolding! Until next time, take care and think positive thoughts.

Lynda




Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

MRT subway MRT subway
MRT subway

Bob with my B day present...folding bike
Floating MarketFloating Market
Floating Market

It was mayhem
MerchantMerchant
Merchant

selling fruit
Canal...Canal...
Canal...

leading to the market
POW CemeteryPOW Cemetery
POW Cemetery

at Kanchanaburi
Is this Safe?Is this Safe?
Is this Safe?

where is OSHA and how come Bob told me to go first!
No one told me No one told me
No one told me

the train still ran!!!
My B dayMy B day
My B day

Yes, they have cakes here, too.
Poi, Noi & TooPonPoi, Noi & TooPon
Poi, Noi & TooPon

They gave me a B day party
 A view of my school A view of my school
A view of my school

Needs a good paint job
Front of eating areaFront of eating area
Front of eating area

We're giving it color!
Europe & Africa...Europe & Africa...
Europe & Africa...

they're coming.
Check out the Queen's Check out the Queen's
Check out the Queen's

picture. Receiving certificate from Governor and school director
Planting treesPlanting trees
Planting trees

with the Nyoke, Director and Governor
Don't Panic, it's notDon't Panic, it's not
Don't Panic, it's not

a marriage, just a blessing.


15th August 2009

travel
I want to come visit you next March, April or May I think the rainy season is June July and August I believe that you will still be there. I love retirement I have flown 59 times since I retired. I just returned from Dubai and Qatar. Love your blog
1st October 2009

Kathy, glad to hear you're still seeing the world! I'll be looking forward to seeing you whenever you can get here. Rainy season is suppose to be over soon, but it's been several days since I've seen the sun. Take care. Lynda

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb