Ubon Part 1 - Four Temples


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Eastern Thailand » Ubon Ratchathani
January 20th 2012
Published: January 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Wat Sa Prasan SukWat Sa Prasan SukWat Sa Prasan Suk

Formerly Wat Ban Na Muang - spectacular entrance under the elephant
Ubon Ratchathani is a very good place to visit and the people have not been exposed to as much tourism like other parts of Thailand and can maintain their normal lifestyle. This was my first visit to Ubon which is a large city in the east, close to Cambodia and part of Isaan, my favorite region of Thailand. This is what I call the “real” Thailand where most people are even more friendly, charming and polite than the tourist areas and live a normal life at work and play. It is quiet and peaceful, the motorcycle and car drivers are very careful and also polite unlike the hectic traffic in other places.

I saw very few foreigners in my five days in Ubon and everywhere I went in the city and region I met the most lovely and nice people whether they be Thai or the very occasional foreigner. Because a foreigner is a rarity in Ubon and the basic friendly nature of the Thai people I was having conversations while waiting for taxis, in the 7 shops, at the disco with people inquisitive about my background and why I had come to Ubon. I even had a picnic with
Wat Sa Prasun SukWat Sa Prasun SukWat Sa Prasun Suk

Bell Tower - tested my climbing skills - my legs are still tired after 4 days of touring Ubon
the staff of a local school in a large crater/hole of the Mekong river bed but more about that in part 2.

My hotel was the Sri Isan near the Moon River and morning market. The location is excellent and the staff of this hotel were exceptional in regards to friendliness and being helpful. It is a typical 3 star hotel and the rooms are clean and comfortable . I had the Junior suite and would suggest taking these style of rooms or the presidential suite, the standard rooms are a bit small.

The lovely young lady at reception organized a driver to take me to visit four temples that I had researched on the internet that have unusual designs which always appeals to me as I have seen many wats/temples in Thailand. My driver spoke little English, again a very nice guy, drove very carefully and nothing was any trouble for him to help me enjoy my tour. The photos include more info about the temples and there are many articles on the internet describing them. I visited the temples on Sunday 15th January and was very tired after a day of wandering the forest, climbing bell towers and looking at most aspects of the amazing Ubon temples.

The night before on Saturday after my arrival I went to the Zeed disco (previously “The Rock”) at the Ubon International Hotel next to the Nevada Complex. The live band was good, staff very friendly and large bottles of Leo beer with a bucket of ice for 69 baht or $AU2.25. I found that no tipping is required or expected in Ubon.

Tuk Tuks are available but i used meter taxis which I found less expensive and more comfortable to get to the disco and other places which for this trip cost 40 baht plus 20 baht call out fee (available 24 hours). There were no taxis about when I left at 2.00 am as nearly all customers are Thai and have their own transport so one of the car park attendants gave me a lift to the hotel and I gladly gave him 100 baht which probably doubled his wages for the night.

Click on the 28 photos for a larger view


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Wat Sa Prasun SukWat Sa Prasun Suk
Wat Sa Prasun Suk

Ceramic crew in boat shaped building
Wat Sa Prasun SukWat Sa Prasun Suk
Wat Sa Prasun Suk

Keep driving around the back to the left or you will miss this boat structure and you can feed the big fish in the lake
Wat Nong BuaWat Nong Bua
Wat Nong Bua

Spectacular and very tall building. It is currently being restored and so beautiful it was astounding - a must see as was Wat Sa Prasan Suk (Wat Ban Na Muang)
Wat Nong BuaWat Nong Bua
Wat Nong Bua

Inside the building - awesome and beautiful
Wat Nong BuaWat Nong Bua
Wat Nong Bua

Another bell tower to climb and this one was tricky with steep steps and no hand rail
Wat Nong BuaWat Nong Bua
Wat Nong Bua

Stunning view from the corner
Wat Pah NanachatWat Pah Nanachat
Wat Pah Nanachat

Foreigners can train and practice Buddhist beliefs
Wat Pah NanachatWat Pah Nanachat
Wat Pah Nanachat

Home in the forest - very serene - no disco here
Wat Pah NanachatWat Pah Nanachat
Wat Pah Nanachat

The forest - nice and quiet here
Wat Pah NanachatWat Pah Nanachat
Wat Pah Nanachat

Monks laundry in the forest
Wat Pah NanachatWat Pah Nanachat
Wat Pah Nanachat

Sign of the times
Wat Nong Pa PhongWat Nong Pa Phong
Wat Nong Pa Phong

Another stunning sight in the distance
Wat Nong Pa PhongWat Nong Pa Phong
Wat Nong Pa Phong

Inside the building


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb