Relaxing days in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand
July 7th 2015
Published: July 7th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Friday morning I got up at my leisure and tried out a new place for breakfast. Got fresh squeezed orange juice which tasted so good and was back off to the commuter boat dock for a ride back down the river. This time I pay on the boat with no issues, hop right on and off and the grab the ferry to cross the river to Wat Arun. This temple completes the trifecta of temples in Bangkok and I'm excited to go and see it. Only sad part is its under major reburb and much of it is closed. So my photos are not the best, but it was still a joy to see!

Built in the 19th century, what makes this sit eso unique is that the entire temple is covered in broken pieces of colored pocelain and put together in floral mosaics. It's so very different from the look of the other temples and I take my time wondering around it on all sides to see the designs. Some are larger images of trees and thkngs. Others are placed on corners and are actually raised off the structure. Gold buddhas are worked into little alcoves and areas as well as stone statue guards. On one tier all the way around the temple are some sort of character side by side that look like they are holding up the structure. And best of all, the bells. All along the top of the tale and the spires that surround it are the small bells. Today there is a lovely gentle breeze and the rings a singing as I take in the sites.

It doesn't take long to walk around. About an hour. The grounds are much smaller than the others but it's immediately my favorite. I wander along the river a bit and then hop back onto the ferry to the dock to the commuter boat and back to the hotel.

With the whole afternoon at my disposal I decide to take full advantage of just walking the streets. Sometimes it's the best way to spend an afternoon. I headed out in my little neighborhood to take in some of the surrounding streets. I stopped into a place for lunch and a beer. Then to the streets. It's a mix of shops and food vendors and massage places and everything in between. I enjoy walking past all the vendors and exploring the sites as smells. Strange fruits and foods being cooked. Noodles everywhere. Souvenir stands. The people are so friendly and kind. Up and down several streets I wondered. I decided to stop for an afternoon espresso at the smallest coffee stand I've ever seen. It looked like a closest dug into the side of a building. The espresso was great and I sat on a little stool on the sidewalk watching people go by. I had ventured pretty far at this point and decoded to make way back. But it wasn't going to be a direct route. I stopped into a restaurant and sat on the patio with a beer. Just taking in the sites and sounds of Bangkok. Once back at the hotel it was time for a dip in the pool and then I headed out for dinner after. Another good meal!!!!

Saturday morning I was up fairly early, had a great traditional Thai breakfast and was off again. This time to the commuter boat dock to take a long tail boat on a tour thru the canals. It's a very windy day and if feels amazing in the morning sun. As it turns out, I'm the only one on this tour and have a long tail boat all to myself. My driver doesn't speak English but yet he's smiling and pointing things out to the best of his ability. Throughout the morning with a mix of single words and hand gestures, we communicate pretty well. We make our way off the main river and into one of the canals. As we start into the area it's still very much city life. Sea walls and office buildings line both aides of the street. Then we come upon the Royal Barge Museum. This is where the royal boats are kept. We see a military/navy area with some small boats. As we continue along we less and less in the city and see more and more homes. Sea wall eventually gives way to a typical river bank and homes go from concrete slabs to stilts in the water. And when I say stilts, I Mena more like 4x4 pieces of wood or tree trunk like pieces that aren't straight. The homes aren't huge but I'm still amazed by how they are supported and wonder how it is that they don't fall into the water. Our first stop for the morning is the floating market. This used to be something that was a way of life but as time has gone on and more people drive in Bangkok than use boats in the canal, the floating market has changed. It was great to see it on a Saturday though. All the vendors were set up and as I hop off my boat I realize I should have waited to eat breakfast. The floating market is street food except being cooked in a floating kitchen. And there were so many amzing foods! Women are taking fish and stuff them with green leaves and they are grilling crab amzing veggies and the fresh fruit is endless. After looking thru all of the cooked food, I hop onto dry land to see the rest of the market. The market was amazing. There were tables set up for those in need of medical services...these looked to be government run. And then more vendors selling food and snacks plus fresh veggies and fruit. And then the flowers. Oh the flowers and other plants were so lush! It was all so beautiful! I wonder up and down the aisles an soaked in all the smells and stopped to take several photos. There were any locals here stocking up on fresh items. This was such a fun stop. I'm so happy the long tail boat tour sales lady told me to wait and do the tour on Saturday when the market is in full force.

Back on the boat the tour continues. We're now really in the heart of the homes in the area and it's lovely. Some homes are large, some small. Many are very pretty. Some you can see are poor. Overall it's a little insight into life in Bangkok. The whole trip is almost 2 hours and by the time we are back out on the main river I'm wishing it was longer. Back at the dock, I thank my guide. He was wonderful to spend the morning with and I'm off to the explore the rest of my day. I stop into a coffee shop and enjoy some espresso and pastries. I decide to try to find a yoga place. Turns out there seems to be one close to my hotel. I change clothes and head out. Back and forth and up and down...I can't find the place. I find the landmarks it says it's near but then all I can find is a building under construction. Bummed, I give up my search and resort to more wand r in of the streets. I also begin an afternoon of beers. I stopped into one place for a fruit plate and beer. Then walk some more and just check out the area and people. Then I run upon a sign that stops me...chicken teriyaki. At this restaurant it's the special for the day. This is a dish that I loved when I lived in Seattle. I used to eat it with rice, this place is serving it with noodles, either way, I'm about to eat it. I sit down order another beer and wait for the goodness. When it arrives it does not disappoint! After an enjoyable meal and some street people watching I make my way back to the hotel for some pool time.

This evening I pack. Tomorrow is Sunday and I'm catching a flight to Chiang Mai. I leave the hotel for dinner and go to a Northern style Thai restaurant where I discover that I like northern pad thai better than the other pad thais. Bangkok was fun! It's a great city to spend some time in. You definitely don't need 5 days but I'm glad I was able to explore at a leisurely pace.

*still not able to upload photos. For photos please see instagram at Her Sole Abroad.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.327s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb