The longest night


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand
December 10th 2009
Published: December 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So the guy picked us up at 6pm on the dot, but then made us walk miles, through all the back streets, through a boxing ring! until we got to our coach. It was pretty busy so I sat next to this young guy. Once we got moving we had a chat, he's from Finland and I think he's called Ollie. At least thats what I've been calling him for the last however many hours. Few beers later and we both fell asleep. I thought at first we had a super seat because we were at the top of the stairs and there was noone in front of us. But we were also above the toilet. I had to sleep with the blanket over my head to keep the smell of piss out.

I was told that we would be stopping at 1am at a restaurant for a break. The bus journey should take 12 hours. At 1.30am we stopped in this car park and I rushed off the bus. I just really wanted some fresh air. But then I was told, if you were going to Koh Pha Ngan then you need to get your stuff. So we got our bags out the bus and asked the driver where we were, "no understand" Ok, but we're clearly not in Surat Thani cos theres no way we could have made it in that time. I had an idea we might be in Chumphon.

We go and sit down and wait, and then I get agitated and go and ask someone whats happening. He tells us we're getting on that boat over there. Cool, but it's pitch black and I know theres no way we're leaving tonight. 7am he tells me. Awesome.

We make ourselves comfy, have some more beers, play some cards then the rain comes. I mean it is shitting it down. Ollie then decides to have a sleep and is currently asleep on the bench. Its now 6.04am and I haven't slept. I've drank 4 big bottles of Singha and I know I'm probably going to be sick on the boat. So, it's been the longest night ever. I can't wait to see sunlight again. I know it's coming because the birds are waking up.

Can't wait to see Alex, Lin and all the others.

Advertisement



11th December 2009

Road to Samui?
Hi Janey, I was just reading through blogspots as my girlfriend and I hit Thailand in less than 2 weeks. We are planning to take a bus from Bangkok to Samuk where we will spend New Year's eve. Reading your note I was thinking that the road to Surat Thani was leading to Samui? Any suggestion about who to contact for a decent bus ride? Hope you're having a spectacular time. Rommel
12th December 2009

Hi Rommel, I booked my bus through a travel agent on Khao San Road, it was the travel agency underneath Rikka Inn. I would have preferred to get the train down though which is a much nicer journey but it was fully booked when I asked about it. You can book it on traveller2000.com. Train to Surat Thani then bus to Donsak and then ferry to Koh Samui. I think it was about 1375. But if you dont want to do that, then just ask around any of the travel agents on Khao san road. I paid 700 baht, for my bus, but then I had to spend the night in the ferry port at Chumphon which wasn't what I'd askedd for. Good luck and enjoy your travels. Jx

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb