Tactics to Combat Laziness


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Si Racha
November 15th 2006
Published: November 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I really am a big fitness nut, as a lot of people know. But somehow lately, I've become really, really lazy.


Strategies

If I were to create a strategy to combat this laziness, it would probably involve new year's resolutions, a regular workout schedule, or a new healthy life plan. However, I'm bouncing around the world over the next year, with no regular bed, bathroom, or kitchen, let alone a local gym or workout space--and with no hope for a regular daily schedule. Because of all this, the closest thing to a plan that I can come up with is to just get back into the 'habit' of fitness.


Back In The Habit

Since habitual fitness is my operational goal, and since there are no real opportunities for strategic planning here, I have to rely on a tactical approach.

My only hope of victory is to equip myself with a toolbox full of tactics that I can employ from day to day as needed, in order to win small victories over laziness. One day these small victories may add up to winning the war and returning to habitual fitness and peak physical condition.


Tactics

I've compiled a list of some of the tactics I have been deploying, which other traveller (and anybody, really) might find useful as well:

- Try Some Wild Activities. Try any new physical activity that presents itself, such as: hiking into the mountains, doing somersaults down the Khao San Road, working on top of the riverboat, having a pull-up contest on the rope-swings, river surfing, etc.

- Take Instruction. Take a course or pay for some coaching in a new activity that interests you. I've tried Muay Thai and that's where these pictures came from.

- Find a Gym and Innovate. See if you can track down a gym, pay for a single session or use a friend's guest card. Then see what they have for space and equipment and make due.

- One fun workout that always makes due for me is the, "one flight at a time," workout: just imagine that you're climbing the world's tallest building, 25 steps at a time. What you do is pick an exercise, do 25 reps, take a quick rest, then pick another exercise for 25 reps, repeat, repeat, repeat. Never do the same exercise twice in a single workout and try not to do the same exercise twice in the same week! It doesn't really matter how hard or how easy each of the exercises you pick is, because you're going through them as fast as you can and you'll stop when you're totally exhausted or out of time.

- Workout in Your Room. This is what I used to do the most at home, but it's a lot harder to get out of bed for exercise when you're on the road. And once you've convinced yourself to do it, it's even harder to actually come up with a workout and get started.

- So I came up with a shortcut, which I call, "the 100s," and it's actually based on something I did every once in a while with Crossfit. Simply pick an exercise and do 100 reps straight through, quickly. If you're feeling weak, it might be only 100 pushups, but for a real challenge try 100 dive-bombers or 100 handstand pushups. See how fun this could be? And even if you only choose to do the 100 normal pushups, you'll probably get your energy up and your endorphins going and want to move on to another physical activity right away.

- Adventure. The tactic I've used the most here in Sriracha is to just combat boredom and laziness by seeing new things and doing some exploration. So, I pick a direction and just start walking, or I ride my bike. A couple of hours of curious wandering by foot or wheel (with a jug of water in hand) has got to be good for my health.


Results

Well, I'm definitely getting fatter with all the rice here. However, I still feel great and look pretty muscular, and I don't get winded on a bike ride or when I have to carry my pack for awhile. The Muay Thai workout kicked my ass, but it was supposed to. I guess I'm doing alright.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



19th November 2006

do you think you'll take up muay thai on a regular basis?
20th November 2006

Nope.
Reminds me too much of fighting, and I don't like that side of me anymore.

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb