Travel Plans Update


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Si Racha
November 14th 2006
Published: November 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I Guess I'm All WetI Guess I'm All WetI Guess I'm All Wet

(In my defense, Chelly thought of this photo, not me...)
I set out a month and a half ago with a pretty good plan to get around most of the world in a year, but I guess I was all wet.

In the short time I've been abroad, some things have definitely changed.

- First of all, I met a woman that I really like and want to spend a lot of time with. That was a big change, prompting me to extend my time in Thailand and to add Kenya to the itinerary.

- That led me into some issues with my Thai visa.

- Then my Mom proposed the idea of her and Dad meeting me in Greece in March to celebrate my birthday and their anniversary.

- Then I learned that travel into Myanmar by land is almost impossible. They've also closed their borders with India, Bangladesh, China, and Laos compeltely--so there's no travelling out.

- I can't seem to find any info about boat-travel from Thailand to India, but China has been highly recommended, and all the travel guides say it's a great place to see...

- Then I learned that northeastern India is a "conflict-zone" and that China and India don't have open borders with one another. However, the Tibet-to-Nepal route is popular and gorgeous, and there are many great Nepal-to-India routes.




So, without further ado, here's the new plan:

- I'll be heading into Cambodia on the 22nd, for a 15-day visit that might just see me spending a couple days in southern Laos.

- After that I'll be spending all of December, including Christmas and New Years, in Thailand with Chelly.

- Then I'm gonna head north into Laos again (my favorite country so far).

- From there I may dip into Vietnam on my way to China.

- I will travel through southern China to Tibet.

- From Tibet I'll be crossing into Nepal, and seeing the freakin' Himalayas!

- From Nepal, it's south to India, and then I make my way across to Mumbai.

- From India, I've got to make my way across to Greece by March. Pakistan and Iran have been recommended as great destinations (and tourist-friendly), but security issues might keep me out. If I do the land route, it's Pakistan to Iran to Armenia to Turkey to Greece. Otherwise, I might find a boat to the Emirates, visit a friend in Dubai, then fly to Israel and continue into Greece. I'd prefer not to fly, however, and if I go through Oman and Yemen, I might find boats up into Egypt and then into Greece. Or I could just cross Saudi Arabia on foot...

- Once in Greece, I chill out with the folks for awhile. A much-needed rest by then, I'm sure, and a great locale to hang out with the people I love most.

- Then it's down to Egypt.

- Maybe I go through northern Sudan , maybe by sea down to Eritrea or Djibouti, but one way or another, I'll be heading through Ethiopia to Kenya in early April.

- I'll meet Chelly in Mombasa for Easter and we'll bounce around Kenya visiting friends and relatives and checking our the scenery.

- If she's game, we'll then travel up into Europe, but maybe we just bag Europe, bum around Africa for awhile, and then head home to Seattle together. Cross that bridge when we get to it.




But, who knows? I could be dead wrong on most of this. We'll see.

And I'll keep you posted.






Advertisement



Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0913s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb