By bus from Bangkok to Pattaya


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Pattaya
July 21st 2014
Published: July 21st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Pattaya 1Pattaya 1Pattaya 1

Mor Chit bus terminal in Bangkok, Thailand.
When I was living in Thailand, I would receive friends from abroad from time to time who came to visit the 'Land of Smiles.' Some were close friends, and some were friends of friends. Whenever I had time off from work I would go meet them, and take them around the city for sightseeing. One such instance was when a couple from Hungary came to Thailand and I took them to Pattaya a well known beach resort (read infamous).

It was the middle of January. Classes were in full swing at the school where I worked at that time. The weather was not so hot as it was still supposed to be the 'cool' season in Thailand. One evening I got a phone call from an unfamiliar voice of a woman saying that she and her husband had just arrived in Bangkok, and were staying at the New Siam II guesthouse and asked whether I could come over. Well, it was a working day for me the next day, so I said I would come see them on Friday afternoon.

The lady turned out to be Linda whom I met a couple of times when I was in Nyiregyhaza,
Pattaya 2Pattaya 2Pattaya 2

Passenger waiting area at Mor Chit bus terminal - Bangkok, Thailand.
Hungary a year or so ago. I recalled at that time she told me she and her hubby were planning to spend their vacation in Thailand, and I had replied that I would be happy to show them around. Anyway, when I went to see them at their hotel they had bought a big packet of Jacobs brand coffee which was not available in Thailand. They wanted to go to the beach resort of Pattaya for the weekend, and wondered whether I could accompany them. Well, I had been to Pattaya before but can't say it is my favorite beach city. This place is notorious for its wild night life, raunchy go go bars, etc., etc. Thailand is one of the most popular tourist destinations in the world, but is also known for the seamier side of its tourist industry. However, I agreed to go along with them, and told them I would come and pick them up the following day which was a Saturday. I spent the rest of the day taking them on a boat cruise along the Chao Phraya River. (A separate entry for the river cruise has been posted here on TB already).

We made
Pattaya 3Pattaya 3Pattaya 3

This terminal is a big one.
the Pattaya hotel reservations for two rooms with my travel agent. His office is located just around the corner from the hotel where my friends were staying. The next morning I went back to their hotel and after breakfast, took a cab to the Morchit Bus Station which is the main terminal in Bangkok for long distance buses. The bus to Pattaya from this station leaves every 30-40 minutes, and a one way fare is around 120 baht or 4 US dollars, although it may be about $5 now, which is still very cheap!

The Bangkok to Pattaya bus ride normally takes about two and a half hours, but it's fairly comfortable with air conditioning and reclining seats. When we arrived at the Pattaya bus station (located just outside the city), we had to transfer to a smaller mini bus that goes to town, a short distance away. We got off at the Nova Lodge Hotel which is one of the oldest hotels in Pattaya, and situated just across the beach front. I believe the name of this hotel was changed a year or two ago.

After we checked in, I suggested going to the beach, but Linda
Pattaya 4Pattaya 4Pattaya 4

Departing area for all buses (they go all over Thailand).
said she wanted to relax by the swimming pool, so Janos (Linda's husband) and I went to the open air bar near the pool, and relaxed in our own way with a few bottles of 'Chang' (Elephant brand) beer. Janos turned out to be a regular guy, and I got along well with him. The only problem was he spoke only two or three words of English, one of them was 'good' and the other 'thank you.' But between the bottles of beer we consumed, and with a few hand gestures, we managed to have a somewhat meaningful conversation!

In the evening the three of us walked along the promenade on Beach Road. I don't think they were very surprised to see fat old Western men, hand in hand with dark skinned Thai girls of various shapes and sizes, or of Middle Eastern men with fair complexed and prettier looking ones.

After dinner at a seafood restaurant, we strolled over to the 'Walking Street' section of the city where the bars, night clubs, discos, and what have you, are all bunched up on this one street for pedestrians only. While we were sauntering along this street, Linda and
Pattaya 5Pattaya 5Pattaya 5

Taken from bus - Bangkok to Pattaya.
Janos were talking to each other in their own language. Although I didn't understand a word of what they were saying, I'm sure they were making remarks about this place and the people there.

The next morning after breakfast at the hotel, Linda decided that she needed another sun tan by the pool. I had already made arrangements at the travel desk of the hotel for the two of them to continue their tour in Thailand, and as I had to work the next day (Monday), I said my goodbyes to them at the pool, and took the next bus back to Bangkok. I think they were happy with my company, and I would have stayed longer with them had it been during the school holidays. I didn't know it at that time, but I was to come back to Pattaya again in another two years time for another occasion!

Besides the above mini-vacation with Linda and Janos, I was in Pattaya several times before and after. As mentioned earlier, Pattaya is not my favorite destination but a lot of people who visit Thailand want to go there, mostly out of curiosity.


Additional photos below
Photos: 60, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Pattaya 6Pattaya 6
Pattaya 6

Taken from bus - Bangkok to Pattaya.
Pattaya 7Pattaya 7
Pattaya 7

One of the hotels in Bangkok (taken from bus).
Pattaya 8Pattaya 8
Pattaya 8

A street in Pattaya, Thailand.
Pattaya 9Pattaya 9
Pattaya 9

I've stayed in this Pattaya hotel several times.
Pattaya 10Pattaya 10
Pattaya 10

Siam Sawasdee Hotel in Pattaya, Thailand.
Pattaya 11Pattaya 11
Pattaya 11

Lobby of Siam Sawasdee Hotel - Pattaya, Thailand.
Pattaya 12Pattaya 12
Pattaya 12

Swimming pool of hotel from my room at Siam Sawasdee Hotel in Pattaya, Thailand.
Pattaya 13Pattaya 13
Pattaya 13

Nice house on a street in Pattaya.
Pattaya 14Pattaya 14
Pattaya 14

View of beach at Pattaya, Thailand.
Pattaya 15Pattaya 15
Pattaya 15

Another view of the beach at Pattaya.
Pattaya 16Pattaya 16
Pattaya 16

Another view of Pattaya beach.
Pattaya 17Pattaya 17
Pattaya 17

Buildings in the distance are hotels and condos - Pattaya, Thailand.
Pattaya 18Pattaya 18
Pattaya 18

Boats at sea (taken from the beach in Pattaya, Thailand).
Pattaya 19Pattaya 19
Pattaya 19

High rise condos beyond the sea - Pattaya, Thailand.
Pattaya 20Pattaya 20
Pattaya 20

Closer view of high rise condos in Pattaya, Thailand.
Pattaya 21Pattaya 21
Pattaya 21

Glass bottom boats waiting for customers at the shore - Pattaya, Thailand.


Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb