What's happened so far...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Nonthaburi
September 17th 2008
Published: September 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well I've been in Nonthaburi, Thailand for over three months now! I saw that my friend Matt had started one of these and I just had to copy him. It's a little hard to believe that all that time has passed already. I found out about Global English School through a friend of mine I went to college with. His parents run the school and they come down to my college every year so I was able to interview with them directly. I came here under the pretense that I would be teaching kindergarten 2 (4 and 5 year olds). That was true, but I found out after I got here that I would also would be teaching grade 9 history and grade 10 p.e., surprise!

Kindergarten has been pretty fun so far, I have thirteen students currently which is a great size. My classroom is also pretty huge so I have a ton of room to get the kids spread out and somewhat reduce the chaos during center time. I was pretty scared before I started, really scared actually. But once I got started it got a lot easier. The hardest part so far has been coming up with ways to teach that keep the kids all engaged together. They lose focus easily so I'm always looking for new ideas. Overall, it's been quite rewarding so far. I can see the kids making progress even after this short time; although I wish I could go back to first day of school and do some things differently, oh well. I've added some pictures of my house and my classroom/students, enjoy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Movie postersMovie posters
Movie posters

Sweet movie posters someone put up.
The new gymThe new gym
The new gym

The new gym is being built parallel to my house, so it can be a bit loud.
The street we live onThe street we live on
The street we live on

Crossing can be...exciting sometimes.
Days of the weekDays of the week
Days of the week

Crucial component of any bulletin board.


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb