my first ISLAND GETAWAY......


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ko Samet
July 2nd 2006
Published: July 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

me and sukaman on boat overme and sukaman on boat overme and sukaman on boat over

this ride was so fun! i loved it...until a sharp turn putting a few of us on the floor board!
Aloha everyone. Just got back from my first island experience in Thailand! What better way to end a week of workin at the clinic then to skip off to an island for the weekend?! We all got off for the day on Friday and left early to make the three hour drive and half hour boat trip to Ko Samet Island. The nine of us (me, my roommates, our friend Sukaman, and three people from KEI) took this awesome little boat ride that felt more like a roller coaster. Then we got to the island, had to wade through the ocean with our bags, and then stumbled onto the sand. Samet is a pretty big island on the Gulf of Thailand, dedicated to tourism, mostly foreigners. It was crazy walking down the beach, almost all Western people around. You would never think you were in Asia until you saw the people selling the fruit and things along the shore, that usually brought me back to reality. The water was gorgeous, as long as the sun was out. Our hotel was called, Jeb's Bungalos. A bungalo is a hotel except cooler. Okay,theres more differences haha. like, its seperate rooms scattered all around a very tropical setting, usually pretty small rooms with limited furniture and things. Who needs all that at the beach? I've always thought of myself as a low-maintnance type person. Ya know, one that can just live with the basics; esepecially at the beach. So that philosophy is definately being tested in Thailand. I often find myself with limited resources. For example, this weekend at our bungalo, we only had electricity maybe fifty percent of the time BUT we did have hot water when electricity was working. That was definatley a treat.
Most of our time we spent in the warm ocean water, laying on the sand, or exploring the island. We did take a very fun kayaking trip though. It is hard to pass up things like this in Thailand when they are so cheap. Both of our nights there we spent in a club type place listening to a live band, then watchin the world cup games, then dancin away. I am so so glad I'm here during the World Cup. Everyone is so into it. So exciting. Right now I'm definately rooting for Italy and Germany. Oh, and I'm getting a little tired of rainy season. It rains every few hours! Ridiculous! Oh well, its not too important...unless you are at the beach! 😊 We usually got a few hours of sun early in the day. Then rain most of the night.
I continue to meet lots of fun foreigners everywhere. They love to give us their email addresses, oh the wonderful connections of the internet. This weekend I met a few locals, some girls from Canada, and then as I was leaving I met a desperate guy from Iran who continued to shout out his email address even when we walked away. I will miss meeting people from all over the world when I get home, even if they are kinda crazy.
So tomorrow is back to work, but only two weeks left of my internship then two weeks of travel before I head home. Miss everyone!


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Mom! I found my prince...Mom! I found my prince...
Mom! I found my prince...

The mermaid lady thinks she can steal him away...
our guides doin the YMCA one night at a clubour guides doin the YMCA one night at a club
our guides doin the YMCA one night at a club

yea, you can't even escape it in on an island in Thailand
beautiful dinner spread...beautiful dinner spread...
beautiful dinner spread...

this little restaurant was so amazing!
upon arrivalupon arrival
upon arrival

check out the "heaven on Earth" part, haha, lovin it..
in front of out hotel signin front of out hotel sign
in front of out hotel sign

(maybe its not a hotel, BUNGALOW) excuse me, anyways it rocks!
huge huge dinner huge huge dinner
huge huge dinner

we didnt have to pay, so we ordered everything on the menu....well, basically


16th February 2007

some help required
Hi! I was in koh samet on the 1st of July, the night portugal played england.. I think i also met some of those canadian girls. Anyways that night I met a nice guy called David from Sweden? you didnt meet him by any chance did you? I do remember one canadian girl going back with his friend.. Do you happen to know her? It would really be great if you could help. mystique_mystery@hotmail.com By the way, that bar you say is the best for watching the world cup belongs to my friend :)! take care

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0257s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb