Arrived on Koh Samet


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ko Samet
January 2nd 2006
Published: January 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I arrived this afternoon from Pattaya. This place is the antithesis of Pattaya. Beautiful beaches, soft white sand, and very peaceful. This is a place to relax. There are a limited number of bars and restaurants, not like the bar girl places in Pattaya at all. A Thai woman who worked at the Asia Hotel recommended this place to me. This is where she goes for vacation.

I will only be here for 3 days. Then back to Bangkok for my flight home.

I will take some pics tomorrow. Today I just unpacked and did a nice walk along the beach. Had a nice lunch near the beach. Very laid back.

I won't be writing too much since internet access costs $1.50/hour compared to $0.50 in Chiang Mai and a $1.00 in Bangkok.

I did find go to a nice beach south of Pattaya before I left named Jomtien. If I ever go back, I will stay there. Similar to what I found moving fron Chaewang Beach to Lamai on Koh Samui. I remember one of my clients was able to get me a time share to stay in on Jomtien. I may take her up on that next year.

I heard that there is another island not too far from here named Koh Chang. That maybe next years trip. Something to look forward to.

Supposedly there is malaria here but not too common. As a precaution I am taking doxycycline and spraying myself with insect repellent. This is cheap insurance.

That's it for now. Excuse any typos.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 23; dbt: 0.017s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb