Ko Mak


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ko Mak
January 23rd 2009
Published: January 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm still not the biggest fan of Thailand, but I have to say that Ko Mak was really nice. I stayed at the Green View resort, which was quite isolated from the rest of the tiny island. I sat on the little dock every day and I was the only one there. Peace and quiet at last. That's the huge downer about some of the bigger islands... I don't want to go to and island to be bombarded by drug infused techno beach parties. I don't want to be surrounded by people and feel alone. I want to be alone and feel at peace. I want to feel like the island is my own private paradise. And that's what Ko Mak felt like.

The water was blue and beautiful... so blue that it was hard to tell where the ocean ended and the sky began. It was so clear and reflective, like a sheet of rippling glass. I could see lots of different fish swimming, and saw some huge crabs with blue claws. One day we took a boat out and the man who runs the resort dove in with all of his clothes in and caught 10 huge oysters.

The people who ran the resort were super friendly. The older man and woman only spoke Thai, but their niece spoke English. The older man was always smiling and cracking jokes, and he made me laugh even though I had no idea what he was saying.

I finished my 930 page book, Shantaram, on the boat in Laos. It was the most incredible book I have ever read. I read "The Time Travelers' Wife" which I hated. I couldn't stand the writing style. The resort had a couple of books around, so I read Danielle Steel's "Sisters" (which I think was the worst book I have ever read... sorry to all of you Danielle Steel fans), and Maeve Binchy's "Whitethorn Woods". I remember my grandmother always reading her books, and it was actually a quite enjoyable read.

There were lots of little dirt paths and some paved roads that were really nice to walk along. There were a couple of different types of plantations, so there were a lot of trees. One late afternoon I took a walk and I was the only one on the road for miles. Just wind in the trees and singing birds.

The only complaint I have is that the jungle scares me at night, but that's my problem more than anything. The huge bugs and the scary sounds that woke me up were quite frightening. Oh and dogs fighting at my door at 5am was also not very pleasant.

I'm back in BKK before flying to Saigon on Jan 25. I'm going to visit Jen to celebrate my birthday!

Advertisement



24th January 2009

i LOLed at your description of Danielle Steele. made me miss you even more! can't wait to talk soon.......!!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb