Chonburi Street Aerobics


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Chonburi
January 27th 2009
Published: January 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I think that life in Chonburi may have just gotten better!! I discovered a night market not too far from my apartment when I was passing by in songthaew on the way back from Bang Saen on Saturday. Besides crepes, grilled corn, and the usual standard stands (i.e. fish and meats in a variety of different ways), there were also several smoothie stands, different flavors of popcorn, and a stand with delicious-looking homemade popsicles. I had been meaning to try to the black bean popsicle for some time and so I did tonight and found it to be different but delightful. This particular one just had the beans at the top and was yummy coconut milk otherwise.

Then, as I was about to leave the market I saw the street aerobics! I saw this in Ban Phe before and heard that it happens nightly in Sri Racha, but didn't know it existed right here in this city! I am excited because since it has not been quite as hot after school I haven't been going to the pool very regularly and so besides the very little bit of exercise I do in my room and walking every day, I haven't been getting any good workouts. Here is the answer. I'm going to dust off my tennis shoes (which haven't been worn since Khao Yai National Park) and join up. I don't know if it happens every day, but I intend to find out. I will try to go tomorrow and hope that it is going on. It is quite a big group of people, mostly women, but also a few men. There were three chipper ladies up front leading the workout and though of course the only thing I could understand was the numbers, the one announcing the moves still had that somewhat over-the-top enthusiasm of aerobics instructors everywhere. I think it will be fine for me to slip into the back of the group and I'm very excited for something to spice up my fitness routine (or lack thereof). Though I can already anticipate the stares I will get, I think I can handle it in the name of sweaty exercise!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



28th January 2009

Yay! I am so excited you discovered the market! That should definitely make life better in the buri. I have seen aerobics here a couple times but keep forgetting where exactly they are and when. Maybe i'll have to try them out with you when I come visit...

Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0691s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb