Khao San Road by Tuk Tuk


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 24th 2017
Published: January 24th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Khao San Road.... it's interesting. As you know from my last post I was nervous about coming here, but I'm pleased to report I am alive!! It's a street littered with random market stalls selling everything from t-shirts to deep fried scorpions. Whilst we didn't buy anything it was good fun to look at. There are bars and restaurants and Thai massage parlours offering a 15 minute foot massage for 110 Baht.

There are also men women and children walking up and down the road selling random wooden things, random light up things and laughing gas. We sat in a bar and had a few cocktails whilst doing one of our fave activities... people watching! There was a guy dancing with fire, an old man and what was quite clearly a lady boy enjoying a nice romantic meal and some really cute cats! Bit of everything really!

What is annoying is when you are walking up and down the road people shoving menus and leaflets in your face for bars, restaurants and sex shows, but being Londoners we are not to polite to say 'Nah mate!'

I'll end this post by telling you about our Tuk Tuk experience... it's not something I particularly wanted to do, but it's an experience to tick off a list.. never again! For those that don't know, a Tuk Tuk is a three wheeled bike with a seat surrounded by a cage on the back. There are hundreds just riding around Bangkok ready to pounce on tourists. It was easy enough for us to find one, 200 baht to take us where we wanted to go... great. I don't know how fast we were going, I don't want to know, what I can tell you is poor Mikey had welts in his arm where I was holding on for dear life! It was the longest 15 minutes I've ever experienced.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb