First Couple of Days


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 13th 2006
Published: September 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My ApartmentMy ApartmentMy Apartment

My apartment building
My first couple days in Thailand, I swear to god I must’ve been on crack. I never knew what day it is or the time of day or night. I arrived late in the evening and had some trouble meeting up with the people who were picking me up from the university. I didn’t get to my apartment till 2 or 3 in the morning. The next day I went to the International College for a tour and breakfast. Around noon I went home to grab my debit card. I was so sweaty and tired when I got back to my place that I decided to take a little nap. Just a little one…Next thing I know, I wake up at 12 midnight and I’m starving!! I don’t know where the hell I am (because I didn’t get a chance to go exploring yet) and I hadn’t had lunch or dinner!! So I stayed up till 8 in the morning listening to music and reading labels on bottles until it was safe enough to go back out to find food. THAT was NOT a fun time. Jet lag sucks.

BUT I have a sweet apartment. My view is into someone’s
My streetMy streetMy street

The view of the street I live on. To get to my place you head straight
big green backyard and I have the most efficient water heater on this planet. I don’t know why we don’t have this in the states already. Its small and it heats water on the spot. My favorite part about my new room is that I have AC and there’s a hose next to my toilet (another thing we should have in the US). So when there are number 2, you get REALLY cleaned. Life can also get hard at times in my room though. Sometimes I lose the remote to my AC and I have to stand on my chair to turn it on. All in all, my new home sweet home is SWEET!!

I noticed how American I was when I realized here:
-the date is written weird so I keep having to fill out new forms or scratch stuff out and people get mad at me for it because it becomes illegible. Here, my birthday is NOT 07/28/1984. Its 28/07/1984.

-Everyone only knows Celsius and kilometers. So people ask me, “Is it hot where you live?” and I say, “Yea, this summer it was about 90-95 degrees.” And they have NO idea how it can be
My RoomMy RoomMy Room

My room looking out
that hot because they’re thinking in Celsius. I constantly have to pull out my cell phone to do conversions for those kinds of conversations. Also, when I ask for how far things are, it’s told to me in meters and kilometers. So you know what I do? I just keep on walking and hope that it’s not too far and that there’s a tuk tuk or taxi driver around when I become hungry or desperate.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

My RoomMy Room
My Room

My room looking in
My BalconyMy Balcony
My Balcony

View from my Balcony
FavoriteFavorite
Favorite

The best thing about my room, the AC remote
Water HeaterWater Heater
Water Heater

The mighty Water Heater
ToiletToilet
Toilet

The hose in this pic is an awesome invention


15th September 2006

So Jelious!!
Hey Daeng- Thanks for the link. I look forward to reading all of your blogs. Keep taking pictures so your readers can live vicarioulsy through you! Take care, Christopher
15th September 2006

ohh my god
talk about 5 star hotel!!! this place is sweet!!!!!
17th September 2006

Beautiful
Wow Daeng, Your place is beautiful. It makes me want to travel abroad. Do you live in your apartment alone or with people? How is the food? Have lots of fun for me and I can't wait to read your new entries!
18th September 2006

nice pad
How is it that you are in a third world country and your living arrangements are better than mine?
18th September 2006

Lucky!!!!
Hi girlie girl...Miss you and have a great time! Love your new room :)

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb