Day TWO


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 17th 2006
Published: September 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I woke up early and headed out to the street vendors for some breakfast. I ended up just eating a dumpling which cost 5 baht (divide by 32 to get the cost in CAD).She told me I could take a skytrain down to the canal and then catch a ferry to some famous wats (temples). I did exactly this but forgot my camera when throught the skytrain gates, classic Jeff. Back to the hostel and then back to the station (sounds a bit like yesterday). I vowed to get my head back on my shoulders as I started back towsards the ferry. The tour guide explained all the popular places to go and I now sit here inside the gates of an extremely intricate wat enjoying the relaxing smell of burning incense (first good smell so far) and enjoying the beautiful surroundings. Very very peaceful.

Later
I stopped at the thai flea market at some random stop where no-one else got off; I was literally the only westerner around. I stopped at some vood vendor down an alley and had an amazing dish for 30 B and filled me up. I also sat and chatted to a thai girl with broken english who invited me to an art exibit as well as giving me her email. Next Stop Khao San Road: Backpacker area of Bangkok.

Even Later
I shopped a little too extreme at khao san road but it was well fun. The weather here is overcast but still very hot and humid.. nice and sticky: after one shower I need another 5 mins later. Not cool man but the lack of hot water is actually quite welcoming. After Khao San Rd, I had a nice leisurely ferry back to the skytrain while reading my book. So relaxing, I'm loving being on vacation. I ended up missing my skytrain stop and my ticket wouldnt let me through the gate. The skytrain cop stopped me and interrogated me quickly before asking me to pay extra for the extra distance. All was cushdy with that but I still ahd to find my way back as I hate backtracking as most people know to I decided to find way by foot. A guy in a tuk-tuk offered to drive me to a massage parlour where naked ladies could give me a 'happy ending' massage but I declined and decided to walk. Half an hour later I was back at the Urban age and definitely ready for a shower after what felt like a weeks worth of filth had accumulated on my body. I went out to get food only to find that our hostel was right next to the strip club district called Pat Pong. I headed back and rounded up the guys for a night out on our neighbouring street. We stopped for dinner first at a really nice place; we had a table situated in the middle of a parking lot with a food stand bring us beer and food. Cant go wrong. It was acutally really good tho, the food was tasty and the cheap thai beer was well... cheap (and strong). Less then 100 B for a litre of beer. I had two of those and was by that point tipsy and ready to start my evening. We went to a few places and had a good laugh and the boys stayed at some club full of annoyign thai girls and potential ladyboys. Walking home alone was scary as I was approached different transvestites every few paces. Not fun, but I guess all a part of the culture here in Bangkok. I figured if I told them I was gay it would work, I tried this theory. "No thanks, im gay". Thiw as responded with, 'Thats okay, im a guy'. 'AHHHH, and I walked much much faster.'. Welcome to Bangkok.




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Dog on LadderDog on Ladder
Dog on Ladder

Yea, i dont know either
We love our KingWe love our King
We love our King

... and queen


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb