Bye Bye Blighty


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 5th 2014
Published: November 5th 2014
Edit Blog Post

And so the adventure begins!

After a night out drinking champagne with the Bestie, it was a struggle to get up early (when I say early, I had become accustomed to post 9 AM starts since quitting work 3 weeks earlier). At least I had done most of my packing the day before - the reason for the early start was for a journey to the Travel Clinic to get my second Hepatitis B inoculation.

Now, following on from seeing the lovely Claire at the clinic last week, I was looking forward to renewing our acquaintance despite my fear of needles. However, I was soon to be disappointed as a male nurse was on duty that day who was probably more feminine than Claire although this didn't extend to the use of a needle ... shit it hurt!

Anyway, £40 lighter I made my way home, care of the obligatory delayed South West Trains.

Once all the last minute checks, double checks and triple checks had been effected, I made my way to Heathrow Terminal 5. Surprise, surprise, the flight to Bangkok was delayed by an hour ... more time to spend in the bar! One thing I did notice whilst wandering around was a condom machine in the Gents. Nothing unusual you would say? Well, I did wonder where were these expected to be used? In the toilet or presumably whilst participating in the Mile High club? Have you seen the size of the toilet cubicles on planes these days ... barely enough room to have a pee, let alone getting your end away!!!

Flight was quite uneventful although I must say I wasn't impressed with the surely British Airways standards of food and service. One guy actually spent 30 minutes arguing with the Steward about the fact they had run out of beef ... this was slightly more amusing than some of the outdated comedies they were showing on the so called entertainment system!

Arrived at a humid Bangkok airport mid morning after the 13 hour flight and went through passport control and baggage claim in no time at all. The airport was very clean and not too busy at all. Had no trouble finding my pre-booked transfer and was taken the 30 minute journey to my hotel, the Majestic Grande, in an air conditioned tank along the busy roadways interspersed with hoardings advertising various different massages.

Having arrived at about 11AM I was not expecting to be able to check-in for a while but was in for a pleasant surprise as I was allocated a room within no time at all. The management of the hotel had already expressed their intention of giving me a tour of the hotel and hosting a dinner but having not had much sleep I requested that this was done tomorrow.

The room is of a good size with all the usual mod cons .... including a pseudo bidet! Not the best of views (no hanging gardens of Babylon or hordes of wildebeest sweeping majestically across the plain) but as it's on the 19th floor a cityscape is in order.

After a little nap and shower to freshen up you find me on the bed typing up my blog. Tummy rumbling so more late!

Advertisement



5th November 2014

Keep it coming - no innuendo implied
Great stuff Bob, looking forward to the next instalment
6th November 2014

Good start!
Hey mate, sounds like a good start to the trip. As Alan says keep 'em coming! Oh yeah and I just watched an episode of the Hairy Bikers in Asia visiting the Chiang Mai, apparently the best food in Thailand/the world it seems!!!
6th November 2014

Get in ma belly!
Hi mate. Food has been excellent so far ... more expensive than what I expect in Chiang Mai but still excellent value none the less. Haven't seen any Hairy Bikers yet ... a few hairy ladyboys though!!!!
6th November 2014

No Wiff Waff!
Hi Mate, Full of admiration and a tinge of jealousy for what sounds like a fantastic adventure. 2 warnings from my visit to Bangkok - 1. Don't stub your fags out on the streets - I got fleeced by a policeman who threatened to keep my passport if i didn't pay him. 2. Walking down a certain street people kept asking me "you like ping pong" - don't believe it mate, I saw plenty of young ladies but no table tennis bats or tables!!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb