A quickie.


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 20th 2014
Saved: January 9th 2024
Edit Blog Post

IMG_2476IMG_2476IMG_2476

This the little beach I stayed on for two weeks. A real gem.
Hello lovely folks.

Just a quick one. I left India and headed to the Thai Islands seeking a holiday and once again Thailand delivered.

For many folks Thailand is their first experience of travel outside of Europe, as it was mine, and I think that is why I bail there when I need a break. It is easy and civilised but still suitably exotic and continues to make a great destination. Sure, parts of are a bit jaded but make the effort to get even slightly off the beaten track and you will be rewarded.

I have decided the time has come to wrap this trip up, but not before a scratching my Italian itch. I have been yearning for Italy for years. During my time in Bangalore I watched a series of The Trip with Steve Coogan and Steve Brydon where they toured Italy doing restaurant reviews for the Observer and I think that nailed it for me.

For many Italy is about the history and culture, and I will enjoy those, but for me it is as much about cars and driving. Those evocative names Ferrari, Lamborgini.....Maserati.

So tomorrow, I am flying in to
IMG_2478IMG_2478IMG_2478

A great view to wake up to every morning. I love the sun I do.
Milano to stay with Fedrico. I met Fedrico in Mongolia on the last trip, lovely lovely chap.

And then I am hiring a car and driving up in to the Alps, over the famous Stelvio Pass, in to Switzerland. After a few of the Swiss alpine roads I will head to see my friend Andy in Zurich before whizzing back to Italy to visit Modena, the home of Ferrari, Pagani and Maserati and close to Lamborgini. The roads around there should offer up some good super car spotting opportunities, all the cars get a shake down before being signed off for customer delivery.

After a few days of this it is off to Turin, home of Fiat, and the biggest Car Museum in Italy, the Museo Nazionale dell'Automobile.

Then, thinking of the coast for a while, the Italian Riviera. Either way I am handing the car back in Genoa.

Now, there are a few concerns about Italy.

1st. Driving. After 10 months of driving nothing, heading in to Milan traffic in rush hour is going to be a challenge. In some way I should be prepared. Italian driving will be incredibly civilised compared to Indian
IMG_2491IMG_2491IMG_2491

My rooms Gecko. Big old chap, must be pretty successful.
driving, but I didn't actually drive in India, so we shall see. Hopefully I wont be killed to death much.

2nd. The Hire car. I have ordered for a Fiat 500 "or similar". This worries me. I think a small petrol Fiat will actually be quite fun, I would prefer a Porsche Cayman S, but I am poor so it will have to do. But what if they use the "or similar" clause? What if I end up with some hateful small diesel? You can drive of a small petrol car with a degree of satisfaction, but a small capacity diesel will be miserable. It would stunt any driving pleasure. All lumpen and stodgy.

3rd. Dressing. I have never been a snappy dresser. I have met quite a few scruffy Italian travellers on my travels but they seem to pull off the scruffy look in a way that is impossible for me. You could dress and Italian in a bin bag and somehow they would still look great. They have a inherent sense of style which I lack. And clothes are important in Italy, if you look badly dressed it reflects very badly on you.....I must shop.
IMG_2494IMG_2494IMG_2494

Hard to see but this was my rooms resident Bat.

So there we are, a quick update. I am home soon and looking forward to it. I loves England I do.

Not many photos on this post, sorry,

All my love

John



PS Just noticed some very old messages that kind folk sent me, but the website never told me so sorry for the lack of reply. J.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom

IMG_2474IMG_2474
IMG_2474

And the resident spider. I don't mind sharing my room with wildlife, as long as it is not poisonous.
IMG_2486IMG_2486
IMG_2486

This is Haad Rin beach, home to the famous Full Moon Parties. Hard to imagine this place packed with 10000 revelers.
IMG_2487IMG_2487
IMG_2487

These are some school children on a litter collection mission. I wish Indians would so this sort of thing. They really need to get a handle on all the rubbish.
IMG_2499IMG_2499
IMG_2499

Nothing screams Holiday louder than a Pina Colada.
IMG_2507IMG_2507
IMG_2507

Farewell oh lovely beach.
IMG_2509IMG_2509
IMG_2509

In places with lots of tourists I love to guess the nationality. These were clearly Brits. The pale skin, the slight podgy, the terrible dress sense. And I can say that because I have all these attributes.
IMG_2514IMG_2514
IMG_2514

I am going to guess Norwegian. This couple certainly had something of the Viking about them. That pose shouts "Conquer!"
IMG_2521IMG_2521
IMG_2521

When I saw these two girls I wondered if the ferry was going to stop for a scuba diving session. But no, these are not wetsuits, they are just an unfortunate choice by their parents. Korean!
IMG_2522IMG_2522
IMG_2522

Thailand compared to India is so nice. People follow rules. Look, this person has stopped at a box junction. Any gap in the road in India is filled immediately even if this causes chaos.
IMG_2523IMG_2523
IMG_2523

Wayne Rooney selling Custard Cakes. Anything for a couple of quid.
IMG_2527IMG_2527
IMG_2527

Even after a military coup Thailand is so much better organised than India. Ok, enough of the India comparisons.
IMG_2533IMG_2533
IMG_2533

I come to Thailand in need of some nice food and once again it delivers at every level, from Street food to western style restaurants.


Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb