First Day of Thai Culinary School: 5 Thai dishes


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 2nd 2014
Published: June 2nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

My classroom : )My classroom : )My classroom : )

Close up to my "student" station!!
We did 3 dishes in the morning and had them for lunch and then cooked 2 more in the afternoon and were done by 3 pm.

I filmed video with my go pro and I caught a good overall of the action but tomorrow I will try to get closer to the ingredients rather than us. I also took photos of all the ingredients for each dish and the finished product as a memory aid. We made everything from scratch and super fresh. Yummmmmm! Nothing gets better than that. After today I realized that no Thai food that I had in the past was actually Thai.

We started by straining our own coconut cream and coconut Milk. Then we macerated curry paste from scratch to make chicken curry with garnish and seasonings. The second dish was deep fried spring rolls and the third pepper steak. I never liked the last 2 but now I love them and so easy and fun to make I was blown away. I couldn't not eat everything for lunch so I left half of it for dinner and my teacher also showed me how to pack food using Thai bags. We finished up the day with 2 dishes: Coconut Green Sticky Rice and Tom Kha ( Coconut Chicken). Again I tasted them and left the rest for dinner and to share with my roommate because even though we prepared one portion of each dish. Half of five dishes was enough for me to eat during 2 days.

On my way back I took the MRT (Subway) and it was actually faster and cheaper than the BTS (Only 20 Baht each way. The station is also closer to home. I saw a destist office around the corner from my street and went in to inquiry about a deep cleansing. 800 Bahts. For under $30 I am definitely getting my teeth clean tomorrow and probably before I leave again.

I was exhausted and overheated. I decided to come home, put the to-go food in the refrigerator and catch up with my blog, photos and videos from the day. Otherwise I will fall behind and will never catch up.

Oh and interesting thing. There is and Australian dude in the Professional Chef Class that goes to class with a huge backpack full of gear. I saw him taking photos of the food with a
Basket with basic ingredients for the dayBasket with basic ingredients for the dayBasket with basic ingredients for the day

Sorry is not super sharp but it is the only pic I have with ALL the ingredients.
tripod and 2 light crossing angles…that made me feel like an amateur. Lol we exchanged words for 2 seconds and all I heard was Hasselblad and gave me his card…I will look up his website at some point. We will be sharing some of the classes when I move up to the pro-chef class and I guess I will be experimenting a lot with food photography. I sort of remember him saying something about “shadows and textures in food photography”….His food photography can be found here: http://www.wordpress.trainingelite.com


Additional photos below
Photos: 67, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

SeasoningsSeasonings
Seasonings

Fish sauce, Oyster Sauce and Soy Sauce. Sugars, mango
Important thai toolImportant thai tool
Important thai tool

...will get the name of it at some point


Tot: 0.952s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 17; qc: 124; dbt: 0.7317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb