First Day of Thai Culinary School: Thai Market


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 2nd 2014
Published: June 2nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

The night before I was super exited to start my Professional Chef Thai Culinary school the next day. I even made sure I went to bed just before midnight. I woke up early to pack up my camera extra batteries and the go pro with the tripod so I could catch all the action.

The Thai Culinary Academy is only 2 miles away but because of the speedways walking is an option I decided to give up. I took the BTS (Sky Rail) because I was already familiar with it. I set a timer as I walked off the door. It takes me 15 minutes to walk to get to the station. And only then I realized that I had to go 2 stations further to trasfer to another line that would take me to the meeting point close to the Academy. I knew the MRT (Subway) was more direct but I didn’t want to mess around. I took 15 minutes to get further and once at the transfer another 12 minutes to get to my destination. I total it was 45 minutes for 35 Baht. Not so bad. But I was definitely going to try the MRT (Subway) on the way back.

I had to meet my teacher at the Asok station to go to the Thai Market together for and introduction to all the basic ingredients. I might not know all the names yet but I have a pretty good idea of what they look like and hopefully learn what they are for during my time here. I tried to take a photo of every single one not to miss a thing. This is going to be a post with a lot of quick snaps.

There is a little bit of a walk from the market to the Academy under that heat. We took a cab to the school and started cooking right away.


Additional photos below
Photos: 74, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.393s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 25; qc: 129; dbt: 0.1915s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb